We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sagamore to your Saves list
The Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Salem MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I traveled here for our one year wedding anniversary. I could not have been more happy with our choice! We were treated extremely well by every staff member from the front desk to the bartender in Caldwells. I truly cannot say enough good things about it.

We dined in each restaurant during our stay and the food was perfect every time!!! Both the downstairs bar and the fine dining restaurant have very distinct atmospheres but we loved having a casual and upscale option.

We stayed in one of the lodges and though I read mixed reviews about them on Trip Advisor, we really loved it. It was very cozy and had a lovely fireplace. The bathroom was gorgeous (not sure if it had been renovated recently) but it was really great. The views from our room were spectacular!

The location was perfect - we walked from the Hotel over the short bridge to the downtown area of Bolton Landing and went into some wonderful local shops; found some great Christmas gifts!

Overall, I give this five stars! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    242
    145
    129
    85
See reviews for
350
361
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my third stay. 10 year wedding anniversary. Place is one of a kind. Rooms may be small, but not for lack of attention to details, just the way they were made way back when. They are super clean and modern with enough details to make you think you are 1800s big-wigs. Just no steamboats!

Every meal we ate there was top notch. The view and the pools were excellent. Pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: Get lakeside for super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been to the Sagamore a dozen times for both business and pleasure. With one caveat, it will not fail to please.

The location on a penninsula on the West side of Lake George, is stunning. The hotel is now nicely maintained (a change from fifteen years ago when it had fallen into disrepair). There is a wealth of things to do in the area with water sports and fishing high on the list. My family loved it.

It is also a SPECTACULAR place for modest sized business meetings (maybe 300 tops) and the staff is quite adept at putting meetings together.

Caveat: You MUST get a room with a lake view ... or at least a room in the main hotel. The lodges are a walk and have no view at all ... or much charm. They are NOT worth the expense.

Room Tip: Lake view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here mid October 2012 and had a great experience. Staff were very accommodating and the food was excellent. The grounds are beautiful and it's a short mile walk to the quaint town of Bolton. The Sagamore is a first class resort in a serene setting. There are plenty of activities for any age right on the property. The fitness center and spa are top notch. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge with a balcony view. We were on the third floor near the main staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed here in October for one night on our way up to Montreal. the hotel itself was very impressive, but it transpired we were not in the main hotel, but in one of their lodges. Also we did not have a view of the lake but a view of the car park! however we did have a basic room so we were not really surprised, but when we booked it did show a terrace area with chairs, again we did not have this! Now the room, it was very acceptable, there was a lovely bed with the most comfortable mattress and topper and the bathroom had very good quality bath essentials. There was a coffee/tea maker, and a flat screen tv. breakfast was not included in the price, so we ate later en route, but we did explore the hotel in the morning before leaving, although it was very quiet, as it was low season, it looked as if they really pack them in on Loungers by the lake! we were also charged a "resort tax" although why they couldn't just put it in with the room price I have no idea as there was no choice in the matter. reception was good and quite friendly on check out.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake ( though it will be more expensive, for quite an expensive hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been here with family and friends on previous occasions, and each time we return, the experience is enchanting. The hotel is gorgeous, from the outside and the inside. The huge open area upon arrival is amazing, it is cozy and grand, the view is stunning, the colours of the trees and the lake keep changing but are lovely in each of the three seasons. The reception personnel are outstanding. They are lively and very helpful, as are the staff in the restaurants. The food is superb, the bar/lounge area is warm with its dark wooden construction, and the garden area overlooking the immense lake is breathtaking.

The fall period was quieter, but this added to its charm. A huge natural fireplace in the main area coupled with Halloween decorations made it an inviting area to sit down in and read. The Caldwell Lobby Bar is a delight especially when someone is playing the piano. Our attractive and spacious rooms with a suite had a lovely view over the gardens and the many islands scattered about across the lake.

We can't wait to go back next season. The place gets better and better, we enjoy it more each time and look forward to visiting again - soon.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at The Sagamore this past November. Very peaceful and relaxing. Many businesses are closed at this time of year but, we were still able to find some restaurants open for breakfast/dinner. Hotel restaurant/pub is very nice and cozy. Loved the Spa! A must if you stay here. Our room was very nice, big and clean. It over looked the lake!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.