We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sagamore to your Saves list
The Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Business and Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been to the Sagamore a dozen times for both business and pleasure. With one caveat, it will not fail to please.

The location on a penninsula on the West side of Lake George, is stunning. The hotel is now nicely maintained (a change from fifteen years ago when it had fallen into disrepair). There is a wealth of things to do in the area with water sports and fishing high on the list. My family loved it.

It is also a SPECTACULAR place for modest sized business meetings (maybe 300 tops) and the staff is quite adept at putting meetings together.

Caveat: You MUST get a room with a lake view ... or at least a room in the main hotel. The lodges are a walk and have no view at all ... or much charm. They are NOT worth the expense.

Room Tip: Lake view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    233
    136
    123
    83
See reviews for
333
350
15
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here mid October 2012 and had a great experience. Staff were very accommodating and the food was excellent. The grounds are beautiful and it's a short mile walk to the quaint town of Bolton. The Sagamore is a first class resort in a serene setting. There are plenty of activities for any age right on the property. The fitness center and spa are top notch. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge with a balcony view. We were on the third floor near the main staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed here in October for one night on our way up to Montreal. the hotel itself was very impressive, but it transpired we were not in the main hotel, but in one of their lodges. Also we did not have a view of the lake but a view of the car park! however we did have a basic room so we were not really surprised, but when we booked it did show a terrace area with chairs, again we did not have this! Now the room, it was very acceptable, there was a lovely bed with the most comfortable mattress and topper and the bathroom had very good quality bath essentials. There was a coffee/tea maker, and a flat screen tv. breakfast was not included in the price, so we ate later en route, but we did explore the hotel in the morning before leaving, although it was very quiet, as it was low season, it looked as if they really pack them in on Loungers by the lake! we were also charged a "resort tax" although why they couldn't just put it in with the room price I have no idea as there was no choice in the matter. reception was good and quite friendly on check out.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake ( though it will be more expensive, for quite an expensive hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been here with family and friends on previous occasions, and each time we return, the experience is enchanting. The hotel is gorgeous, from the outside and the inside. The huge open area upon arrival is amazing, it is cozy and grand, the view is stunning, the colours of the trees and the lake keep changing but are lovely in each of the three seasons. The reception personnel are outstanding. They are lively and very helpful, as are the staff in the restaurants. The food is superb, the bar/lounge area is warm with its dark wooden construction, and the garden area overlooking the immense lake is breathtaking.

The fall period was quieter, but this added to its charm. A huge natural fireplace in the main area coupled with Halloween decorations made it an inviting area to sit down in and read. The Caldwell Lobby Bar is a delight especially when someone is playing the piano. Our attractive and spacious rooms with a suite had a lovely view over the gardens and the many islands scattered about across the lake.

We can't wait to go back next season. The place gets better and better, we enjoy it more each time and look forward to visiting again - soon.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at The Sagamore this past November. Very peaceful and relaxing. Many businesses are closed at this time of year but, we were still able to find some restaurants open for breakfast/dinner. Hotel restaurant/pub is very nice and cozy. Loved the Spa! A must if you stay here. Our room was very nice, big and clean. It over looked the lake!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently made my first trip to the Sagamore, for a small conference. I would love to return with my spouse for a getaway. The grounds are beautiful; our group also enjoyed a lovely boat trip on Lake George. My room in the main hotel was very attractive, comfortable, and quiet for sleeping. The meals provided to our conference were uniformly excellent, and all staff members I encountered were friendly, helpful, and efficient. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: I had a partial view of Lake George; very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A beautiful facility -- really enjoyed my stay for a work conference. Beautiful old property in very good shape. I had a handicapped room and if I was in a wheelchair I think it would be hard to navigate. Furnishings more quaint than high luxury. Restaurant food quality very high. Service not quite up to the same level or at least inconsistent. Great golf course.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.