We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property and Landscape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sagamore Resort to your Saves list
The Sagamore Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Napa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property and Landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here mid October 2012 and had a great experience. Staff were very accommodating and the food was excellent. The grounds are beautiful and it's a short mile walk to the quaint town of Bolton. The Sagamore is a first class resort in a serene setting. There are plenty of activities for any age right on the property. The fitness center and spa are top notch. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge with a balcony view. We were on the third floor near the main staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    263
    152
    135
    88
See reviews for
392
382
17
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed here in October for one night on our way up to Montreal. the hotel itself was very impressive, but it transpired we were not in the main hotel, but in one of their lodges. Also we did not have a view of the lake but a view of the car park! however we did have a basic room so we were not really surprised, but when we booked it did show a terrace area with chairs, again we did not have this! Now the room, it was very acceptable, there was a lovely bed with the most comfortable mattress and topper and the bathroom had very good quality bath essentials. There was a coffee/tea maker, and a flat screen tv. breakfast was not included in the price, so we ate later en route, but we did explore the hotel in the morning before leaving, although it was very quiet, as it was low season, it looked as if they really pack them in on Loungers by the lake! we were also charged a "resort tax" although why they couldn't just put it in with the room price I have no idea as there was no choice in the matter. reception was good and quite friendly on check out.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake ( though it will be more expensive, for quite an expensive hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been here with family and friends on previous occasions, and each time we return, the experience is enchanting. The hotel is gorgeous, from the outside and the inside. The huge open area upon arrival is amazing, it is cozy and grand, the view is stunning, the colours of the trees and the lake keep changing but are lovely in each of the three seasons. The reception personnel are outstanding. They are lively and very helpful, as are the staff in the restaurants. The food is superb, the bar/lounge area is warm with its dark wooden construction, and the garden area overlooking the immense lake is breathtaking.

The fall period was quieter, but this added to its charm. A huge natural fireplace in the main area coupled with Halloween decorations made it an inviting area to sit down in and read. The Caldwell Lobby Bar is a delight especially when someone is playing the piano. Our attractive and spacious rooms with a suite had a lovely view over the gardens and the many islands scattered about across the lake.

We can't wait to go back next season. The place gets better and better, we enjoy it more each time and look forward to visiting again - soon.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at The Sagamore this past November. Very peaceful and relaxing. Many businesses are closed at this time of year but, we were still able to find some restaurants open for breakfast/dinner. Hotel restaurant/pub is very nice and cozy. Loved the Spa! A must if you stay here. Our room was very nice, big and clean. It over looked the lake!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently made my first trip to the Sagamore, for a small conference. I would love to return with my spouse for a getaway. The grounds are beautiful; our group also enjoyed a lovely boat trip on Lake George. My room in the main hotel was very attractive, comfortable, and quiet for sleeping. The meals provided to our conference were uniformly excellent, and all staff members I encountered were friendly, helpful, and efficient. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: I had a partial view of Lake George; very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A beautiful facility -- really enjoyed my stay for a work conference. Beautiful old property in very good shape. I had a handicapped room and if I was in a wheelchair I think it would be hard to navigate. Furnishings more quaint than high luxury. Restaurant food quality very high. Service not quite up to the same level or at least inconsistent. Great golf course.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had not been to the Sagamore since the multimillion renovation several years ago. Most of the money it appeared has been spent on the waterfront. The views are fabulous and I imagine even better in the summer when you could boat or sail. They've even created a beach where there was none!

The rooms were lovely and large (not sure they were part of the update). The main restaurant has been completely redone and is now more 'family friendly.' The orginal was more elegant and 'adult only' but this was fine. Food was good - I would not say great.

My only complaint was at the check out. We had booked the dining package at a particular rate but were charged a different rate ($150 more). Breakfast was included (along with dinner) but we were charged for that as well. We called when we arrived home and the correction was made. The person in the business office said that the rate had 'gone up' since we booked (this was a holiday weekend). Still, it was not a happy ending to our stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a room with the 'lake view.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
10.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
#22 of 89 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 stars 930 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#7 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Water Manor
The Lodges at Blue Water Manor
#4 of 9 in Bolton Landing
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
5.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sagamore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore Resort

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bolton Landing
#3 Family Hotel in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sagamore Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Sagamore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Resort Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.