We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore

Save Saved
You added The Sagamore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at The Sagamore this past November. Very peaceful and relaxing. Many businesses are closed at this time of year but, we were still able to find some restaurants open for breakfast/dinner. Hotel restaurant/pub is very nice and cozy. Loved the Spa! A must if you stay here. Our room was very nice, big and clean. It over looked the lake!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    209
    127
    109
    74
See reviews for
301
315
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently made my first trip to the Sagamore, for a small conference. I would love to return with my spouse for a getaway. The grounds are beautiful; our group also enjoyed a lovely boat trip on Lake George. My room in the main hotel was very attractive, comfortable, and quiet for sleeping. The meals provided to our conference were uniformly excellent, and all staff members I encountered were friendly, helpful, and efficient. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: I had a partial view of Lake George; very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A beautiful facility -- really enjoyed my stay for a work conference. Beautiful old property in very good shape. I had a handicapped room and if I was in a wheelchair I think it would be hard to navigate. Furnishings more quaint than high luxury. Restaurant food quality very high. Service not quite up to the same level or at least inconsistent. Great golf course.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had not been to the Sagamore since the multimillion renovation several years ago. Most of the money it appeared has been spent on the waterfront. The views are fabulous and I imagine even better in the summer when you could boat or sail. They've even created a beach where there was none!

The rooms were lovely and large (not sure they were part of the update). The main restaurant has been completely redone and is now more 'family friendly.' The orginal was more elegant and 'adult only' but this was fine. Food was good - I would not say great.

My only complaint was at the check out. We had booked the dining package at a particular rate but were charged a different rate ($150 more). Breakfast was included (along with dinner) but we were charged for that as well. We called when we arrived home and the correction was made. The person in the business office said that the rate had 'gone up' since we booked (this was a holiday weekend). Still, it was not a happy ending to our stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a room with the 'lake view.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neversink, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lake George is simply a clean, large, beautiful lake and The Sagamore is a great place to enjoy all that the area has to offer. I was there for a conference and it was very nice. The lodges can be a little far from the main building, which wasn't conducive to easy room stops for a conference. Although the shuttle service travels frequently (actually on-demand), and the parking seemed to be ample, if you don't or can;t walk a lot, you might want to consider spending the extra money and staying in the hotel itself (although the lodge rooms were much larger). One other observation is that the hotel didn;t appear to be very handicap friendly. There were an abundance of steps (a few here, a few there) and it looked like accessibiility could be a problem. The food was very good and the property is definitely pretty.

Room Tip: lodges can be quite a walk away, but are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a beautiful place located a few miles from Lake George Village and in Bolton Landing. It is right on Lakr George itself and the views are amazing. We went when the leaves were changing and it was fantastic.

The breakfast buffet was $22 per person but worth it. However, there are places to eat in Bolton Landing or Lake George. If you do eat the buffet, sit outside for the view while you eat. It is the same place for the dinner restaurant. Again, worth it.

The concierge knew everything and everywhere to go. They had events going on at the hotel and S'Mores at the fire pit at night.

We had an issue in a room and they immediately upgraded us.

The price may be a little pricey, but in this case yoi are paying for quality.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Came in the autumn for a family (sisters) vacation. The grounds and hotel are gorgeous. We stayed in the lodges, which we a little less pricey. There was a mix up with our room (we wanted two beds instead of a king), and they upgraded us for the second night. Awesome. The food was marvelous. The restaurant service terrific. My only hesitation (which hasn't affected my ranking) is the lodge rooms are definitely "lodgey", so if that's not your preference try to stay in the hotel itself. My spa visit was also excellent--great massage, good ambience. Finally, take them up on the cruise around the lake on the Morgan. It was fun. This isn't a budget inn, but for a first-class stay it's worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.