We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sagamore to your Saves list
The Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Better every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was our third visit to the Sagamore this year, and I would love to go back again. It seems that each time it gets better. We had been there in the summer twice. The late fall was spectacular - the colour of the leaves and the sun reflecting off the lake created an awesome surrounding for the majestuous hotel. A very peaceful and inspiring setting, despite the many water activities going on. The room was sensational, the staff are delightful, and the dinner was amazing. We went on a moderate hike up nearby Cat Mountain which provided a breathtaking view of the mountain tops and the lake below. The area is plain gorgeous, and the resort is phenomenal with its large manicured grounds and decks, as well as the cozy outdoor restaurants and massive pool, all of which overlook magnificent lake George. We can't wait to return. The moderate drive from Montreal through the Adirondack Mountains makes this an inviting opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    233
    136
    123
    83
See reviews for
333
350
15
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piermont, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family has stayed at the Sagamore for holiday weekends for the past 2 summers, and I've attended several conferences there. Prior to our stay this summer, there was some confusion about the availability of some services prior to our arrival. We were quite disappointed, and ultimately, I was able to speak to the General Manager, who was very concerned about some misinformation that was shared with us, and went out of his way to make things right. It turned into another outstanding vacation for the adults, as well as our 4 year old grandson. The accomodations suited our needs perfectly, and we opted for the Breakfast package, which was varied and delicious. The pools, the waterfront and recreational facilities are all top rate, and we're looking forward to another stay next summer. Kudos to a great destination and a terrific staff!

Room Tip: The lodge rooms can be quite a distance from dining and swimming, so request a lodge room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We've been coming to Sagamore for the last 15 years. It's great for couples and families. Set on it's own island with breathtaking views of Lake George and the mountains on the other side, the view is fantastic. The hotel is extremely well equipped for whatever you would want to do, outdoor pool, indoor pool, spa, fine dining as well as other dining options on site. You can stay in the main hotel or opt for the lodge suite facing the lake which are bigger and more suited to privacy and families. We love this place, it's always good!

Room Tip: Lodge suites are in very good condition but haven't been renovated but I do believe most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed there another year, 3rd in a row for a big conference, and thanks. The rooms (cabins) are terrific, clean, nicecely appointed, Service is great, food is good, just another great year! Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This historic hotel is very memorable. The service is top-notch. I wish I had more time to explore. I was here in November but I bet it is a wonderful place to enjoy when the weather is more suitable for outside activities. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Sagamore leaves nothing to be desired. A gorgeous property, with astounding views of Lake George. The rooms are gorgeous and luxurious and very comfortable. The Adirondack rooms are fabulous too. We've been there about 5 times. The outdoor, indoor pool, health club and spa services are perfect!! The service is 5 star, the best. There is not enough they can do for you. Do go for a special occasion or just to see the beauty of this historic hotel and the property on which it sits. A very special place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakigemcam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We visited The Sagamore to celebrate our anniversary in early November. We had been to the region many years before and had always wanted to stay at the resort. Being low season, there were very few children; if our kids were younger it would be a great place to visit in high season, but since we now feel old and tired and cranky ;), it was nice not to have many kids running around. We'll save that for Disney. The resort is in such a spectacular setting, but moreso, every aspect of our stay met or exceeded our expectations. We needed a little pampering.Yes, it is expensive. Our small suite was in the main hotel which made everything convenient. The "indoor" pool which has open windows at the sides is beautiful! Gym was great - all the machines I like, clean. I would have enjoyed the 9am Zumba class but could not get out of bed in time - what a great view from the studio! We each had massages which were excellent - I've had many and you always worry about your masseuse's skills, but we were both really pleased. Our room was well appointed and immaculate. Public spaces both indoors and out were just stunning - even without the views, which made everything spectacular. A warm and toasty fire in the lobby and lots of areas to sit and read, indoor and out, nice walking around the island. We ate in the bar one evening and the pub another as we were not in the mood for a large meal in the more formal restaurant, and the meals were good - of the four meals, maybe only my chicken Caesar was disappointing - kind of short on lettuce. The buffet breakfast was superb. Plenty for those who want to eat healthy - and for those who do not! Berries, pineapple, melons, smoked salmon, bagels, omelettes, crepes, pancakes, etc.....something for everyone. The yogurt parfaits were delicious! Main dining room is airy and spacious, and of course, those views.....wish it were warm enough to sit in the outside area. Our server the second morning at breakfast was the only negative moment we had - it wasn't that busy, we were eating from the buffet as were most people, but she was forgetful and we had to wait for many things after several requests. A minor issue, perhaps she was new or having a bad day. Loved the variety of crisp apples in the lobby! Worth every penny for this special weekend and will definitely return! Thank you for the hospitality - we needed it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.