We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''Understated Elegance''” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sagamore to your Saves list
The Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“''Understated Elegance''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have been coming up to the Saratoga area for the past five years and last year we just happened to be taking a tour on one of the Lake George paddleboats and passed by this gorgeous property on the lake. This year we decided to drive a little further north and try out The Sagamore. In terms of lasting first impressions...What a beautiful drive to the front entrance.. Check in was flawless.. Lobby was beautiful! Our room was located a short walk away from the main hotel in what I would describe as a town house style building. The room was just outstanding! Clean, bathroom was fantastic, living area was very large, flat screen TV's in both living room and bedroom, nice small deck with rocking chairs to enjoy the view... just wonderful! Thank you Sagamore for the fantastic upgrade!!! Much appreciated! My 10 year old son loved the croquet green and enjoyed playing on it several times throughout our two night stay (sorry.. he'll bring his "whites" next year"). The kids loved the pool and swimming in the lake. Lifeguards on the lake were very attentive. We did not use the REC room at all, the weather was just too nice. The entire staff, from the doorman who greated us, the front desk staff, Lorie in guest services who helped me out with my "passport issue" were all great. This is a very family oriented property, no pretentious or stuffy attitude among the employees whatsoever... One our our best vacations to date! See you next summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    218
    130
    112
    76
See reviews for
307
330
15
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our family of 14 -- 6 grandkids, mostly teens, 6 adult parents and 2 grandparents just returned from the Sagamore. We were a little fearful after reading some of the reviews here but we had a wonderful time and everybody loved the place. The main building is gorgeous and, while the lodges could use a little updating, they were mostly very nice. Our (grandparents) room had a very small bathroom and no balcony, but the suites our kids and grandkids had were very nice. We did not notice any crowds at the pool. My family was able to get chaises whenever they wanted. The buffet breakfast in the main dining room was great (one of the best buffet breakfasts ever, with made to order pancakes as well as omelets) and we had a very nice dinner in the Pavillion. The hotel provided shuttle service for people who found the walk between lodge and main building too long -- I have mobility problems and used the shuttle constantly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

At first glance the Sagamore is a beautiful resort, however after entering our room our opinion quickly changed. I can only compare our " luxury" accommodations as a low-end motel room. Our room was located on the basement level. Furniture was old, mismatched and extremely outdated. In-room air conditioner was annoying and noisy - it was mid- summer and ended up turning the air off to avoid the clunking noise while we slept. First day the hair dryer broke, second day the bathroom sink clogged. Many of the staff were exchange students - friendly, but lacked experienced. At one of our meals, the server attempted to place our main entries in front of us but realized that our appetizer plates had not yet been removed, after hesitating for a moment, he set the meals on the opposite side of the table and walked away. Meals were inconsistent some arriving cold and some dried out and over cooked. Best meal was the breakfast buffet! Pedicure was a messy mess. 10 year old could have given me a better treatment! Grounds are beautiful, lake views are gorgeous. Overall a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Stay in a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in the historic hotel with my family. Could not have been happier, kids very happy and loved the rec. Also the sagamore has the best breakfast around , don't miss it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Service was amateurish, parts of patio chipping and falling apart, spa was the WORST ever (masseuse with calluses!). only redeeming point was the nice views.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed recently at the luxurious Sagamore Resort on Lake George, NY. To say that the resort is magnificent is an understatement. The location is superb, the road leading up to the hotel is lined with mature majestic trees, and the property is green, vast and immaculate. From the waterfront, it looks like a white palace hovering over the lake. The gardens are beautiful and well taken care of, the swimming pools and sunbathing areas are impeccable, as are the adjacent open air restaurants and lobby area.

For sports enthusiasts, there are many options to choose from. There is a very attractive gym in the hotel which has all the machines, free weights, and other equipment. A variety of fitness, yoga and similar classes are available throughout the day. There are tennis courts on site, a delightful crocket court adorns the entrance, and the golf course is a short drive away. The fairways could not have been greener, and on the days that I passed by, there was no waiting time to tee off at all.

The room I stayed in was exceptionally tastefully furnished and the staff were terrific. Definitely a place to recommend highly and to return to. The lake is magic, typically Adirondack. It is surrounded by densely covered mountains, and is over 30 miles long and 3 miles wide. Close to the hotel are the Narrows, a particularly attractive section of the lake which is dotted by a host of enchanting islands. Many of these islands can be used on a daily basis. Dropping an anchor in a secluded bay to take in the sun, enjoy a picnic and swim in the warm, clean water is heavenly. The hotel even offers its guest to tour the lake on a replica of a 19th century touring boat. In addition, boats or rides of every description can be rented right at the hotel beach. All in all, the entire experience at the hotel was wonderful. A great place for adults, couples and families.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I had grown up hearing about this hotel/resort property and was excited to try it out this year What a mistake. After just inputting 2 great hotel reviews, I saved this one for last because it was so disappointing.
-Incompetent staff (when you go to the front desk they have no idea about local things to do or places to eat - they could not recommend one hike and you are in the Adirondacks - come on). We had heard they laid off all the older staff and you sure only saw young exchange students from other countries or kids right out of school. They smiled and meant well but were useless on so many levels.
- For this price you would expect a nice room. But no, don't. Sagging walls, old furniture, old kitchen equipment, etc. It just kept going from bad to worse on this property.
- And so we go in June - the website doesn't bother telling anyone that the rec center is not open yet. That leaves basically an indoor and outdoor pool and that is it. No other activities at all. And I am not kidding. When we went to the front desk, all they could do was apologize. As I sat in the front lobby, I heard person after person come in and complain about the same things. What is there to do ( I am sorry sir, the rec center is not open), complaints about the rooms, complaints about the staff, in general you get the idea - complaints
- And if you are wondering why we weren't in the lake - it was 60 degrees and raining and they had the lake access closed when we were there.

And by the way - plenty of info is available - you just need to go into town to ask - not sure why the resort wouldn't have the info -

Overall - terribly expensive - terribly disapointing

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.