We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Waterside Eating.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algonquin Restaurant

Algonquin Restaurant
4770 Lake Shore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
(518) 644-9442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Port Orange, Fl.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Waterside Eating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food here is always good, with good sized portions. The best thing about this restaurant is the location, right on the water. Evening meals at sundown are just perfect. Restaurant has ample parking on both sides of Rt. 9N and plenty of inside and outside seating. Service is usually fast and friendly. Nice place to sit with drinks and appetizers and just watch the boats come in for dinner. Not much to dislike about this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    49
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LasVegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had lunch there today. First time visit and it was great. Food was excellent. View was wonderful. Everyone was super friendly. My only complaint was pepper on my potato chips, which I think there should be a law against ;). Otherwise perfect and we will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
“GREAT SUMMER PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We've eaten here many times over the years and thought it was time we let others know about our experiences. We have two requirements for a restaurant - good food and reasonable prices. The Algonquin has GREAT food at reasonable prices. Many or our visits have been for lunch but we've also celebrated with friends on their birthdays too. My favorite lunch is the Monte Cristo sandwich and of course my husband is a burger fan so we're always both satisfied. Of course over the years we've had the Fish Point which is always great and salads always fresh and crisp etc, etc. We live 40 miles away and the trip is well worth the drive every time. There are bonuses at the Algonquin too. Being so close to the water, the lake views are gorgeous and there is always a beautiful array of flowers. We've always found the waitstaff to be professional, courteous, congenial, attentive and ready to help if needed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Landing, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Crab Salad Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We all had a crab salad sandwiches which was very fresh and delicious tasting. The chowder was also very good and the service was above par. The views of the lake are also outstanding on the exterior deck areas.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food with an awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was our first time eating at the Algonquin Restaurant but it won't be the last! Since it was our first time dining there we both agreed to order the Sampler plate for 2. It came with 2 crab cakes, 2 petite filet mignon's, 2 stuffed ravioli's, and 2 encrusted salmon fillets. We had the Calamari for our appetizer and I had a locally brewed beer they named "Algonquin amber ale" and it was delicious! My wife and I both thought that it left us with a hint of Maple Syrup taste on our pallet. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with maple syrup but It sure tasted like it did! I really enjoyed it. When our waitress brought the platter of food out to us, both of our eyes got so wide, it could have told the story of what was going thru our minds...we could not wait to start eating! Everything on this platter for 2 was delicious and plenty enough that we both walked out of there full and very satisfied. I have included a picture of what we had to look at while we were eating. It was a nice experience all around! We WILL be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonquin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Algonquin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonquin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.