We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boathouse Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Boathouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
44 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE HUGS AT CHECK-OUT
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Weehawken, NJ
1 review
“Dream Come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

When the world seems to shine like it has had too much wine, when you are walking in a dream and you know you are not dreaming, it's amore!!!

BoatHouse BB is constructed on one of the most magical locations on Lake George. The Roman style stone arches take you back in time and the warmth of Isabella's suite will simply make anyone fall in love. Patti spoiled us daily with a 3-course breakfast while Joe narrated great stories about the history behind the house and the city. On our last day, Joe gave us a very special lake tour on his 33-foot custom mahagony boat, without which our stay would have been incomplete.

Every morning we woke up to the beckoning mountain views and the sweet ocean breeze on our porch. Patti and Joe made the stay very memorable, but more importantly they made us feel very special throughout.

I strongly recommend BoatHouse BB to all those who cherish luxury and comfort and expect nothing but the best.

  • Liked — Magical Location, Old World Experience, Warmth and Romantic Ambience
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    16
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
139
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Driving up Route 9N from Lake George Village, you will pass innumerable motels and cabins, some dating back to the 1940’s and 1950’s, in various states of repair. Then you come to Bolton Landing, home of The Sagamore - the great Grand Dame of hotels on Lake George. But right before the bridge over to the island on which the old Dowager presides, you will find the Boathouse Bed and Breakfast. The Boathouse is a unique little jewel which actually sits over the water of Lake George: a little refuge amid the hustle and honky-tonk that often characterizes the west side of the lake

The Boathouse was once the summer home of George Reis and his Gold Cup champion speedboat, El Lagarto. The house that is now the bed and breakfast was built above the boat slips and the water below, and it has the feel and smell of an old Lake camp: cluttered with family photos and bric-a-brac that give you the feeling that you really are a guest in someone’s home. The polished wood floors (or ceiling if you are in the slips) and the casement windows around the sunny front common room speak volumes of the quiet elegance of a former time, and the comfortable wicker chairs, which look out to the lake from the front porch and every conceivable corner on the docks or the seawall near the water, promise to be heaven on a sunny day.

We took advantage of an April special, and we booked one of the two “suites,” which are the only rooms which are not in the boathouse itself, but are above the garage behind it. Our room was not what I would call a suite - a single room with an enormous Adirondack-style bed, gas fireplace, a small kitchen area consisting of a sink, fridge and microwave, and a sumptuous bathroom – but it was very pleasant nonetheless. It had a tiny balcony, just big enough for two chairs and a small table, looking out over the roof of Boathouse to the lake and the mountains on the opposite side. The bed was huge and delightfully comfortable, the bathroom boasted a double whirlpool tub, and our hosts thought of every amenity we could have wanted: bath salts, tooth paste, a shoe-shine kit, and even earplugs for what we could only imagine would be the noise from the nearby road in high season, although it was very quiet when we were there

But the real pleasure was the Boathouse itself. Sitting in the April sun on the wicker chairs on a corner of the dock, inches away from the surface of the lake that slapped and gurgled below us, we found an ideal way to while away the afternoon with a book. Their boat, a Hacker Craft which was built just up the lake in Silver Bay, sits in one of the slips below the living quarters, and Joe apparently takes guests for rides (for a price) when the weather warms up. A hot tub is also situated up against the house for those cool starlit nights - unfortunately we had not packed our bathing suits. Before breakfast I sat on one of the chairs on the front porch and decided that I just might forego the morning meal in order to linger in the sun. But we were only there for one night and I did enjoy the breakfast.

We did not experience the attitude which some have described in Patti and Joe, nor did we find the little signs and rules to be intrusive or unnecessary.

The ambiance comes at a price, of course. Even at the discounted off-season April rate, our one night totaled more than $300 when the tax is included. But it was a delightful little stay and one that we hope to repeat.

  • Liked — The building itself and its location over the water
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

Had a one night stay in April, as the sagamore was full the first night of our arrival. Beautiful grounds and beautiful scenery all around you. Food was fabulous. Bed as comfy as clouds. Jacuzzi on the deck, what a great surprise that was. It was an 80 degree weekend in April, so enjoying the jacuzzi outside with the stars above us. Pure relaxation. I would highly reccommend this to anyone that loves a true B&B. Or if you have never experienced one as well.

  • Liked — The beautiful view, the big comfy bed, the arrival cookies, the jacuzzi, the breakfast, heck i guess I loved it all.
  • Disliked — Leaving of course.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

"Magical"- Romantic" - Enchanting"-Breathtaking"-we've traveled to many locations through the years and Vermont is our main retreat. Takes us back in time. Recently, we were stressed and needed a quick getaway. We went to our childhood vacation area for dinner one night, in the Lake George region. We both love the area and thought we'd like to spend a night or two next time we needed a getaway. I researched online and discovered a hidden gem. Unfamiliar with "Bolton Landing", all though I stayed at the Sagamore years ago, I came acrossed "The Boathouse". The website was very inviting, we soon made a reservation. When we arrived, we were immediately awestruck. GORGEOUS to say the least. Built IN the Lake, we felt like we were on a cruise without all the chaos and crowds. Breathtaking views! Patti and Joe, the owners, we can't say enough about. Such a warm, genuine, classy couple. They live what most of us would describe as "the good life". They love people and what to "pay it forward", and give back. It's so obvious in their manner. Attention to every detail, amazing. Each room is named after their grandchildren which makes you feel the love throughout the B&B. Our room was so intimate and romantic. It was mid March and that room made us feel like we were in mid July. We were both so giddy and fell in love all over again. Patti is truly gifted. Between her decorating skills and her gourmet breakfast, she should have her own show on the Food Network. Cheri, the Manager, is the sweetest person I ever met! We will be back, Vermont will have to wait, we found a new romantic haven! GO to the Boathouse B&B - Relax, Fall in love again, Smile....

  • Liked — location, romance, owners, people
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

I had the unique pleasure of visiting the Boathouse this summer. My wife and I stayed in the French Quarter Suite and it was very clean and corfortable with a wonderful jacuzzi bath and gorgeous views of the lake from the step out balcony. A few reviewers have been put out by the Rules of the house, but I must support Joe & Patti on them. This is a Bed & Breakfast, not a cabin or a motor Inn. Your'e a GUEST in their home. They are not guides who should be expected to keep anyone entertained. You'll be staying in a castle on/over the water that should be protected & preserved. They were welcoming to us but not intrusive and the house manager, Sheri, made us feel very comfortable. The Breakfasts we're top notch and you never left hungry. They managed to serve everyone's breakfast hot so timing was key. It's Served at 9AM Sharp. Be courteous to the other guests and be there on time. It's a B&B not an ihop. Location is amazing as your steps away from both the Sagamore Resort and the Village of Bolton Landing. Enjoy!!!

  • Liked — Stunning Grounds & Lake Views
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

To celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, my husband and I stayed at the Boathouse Bed & Breakfast for two nights at the end of their fall season. The grounds and buildings are beautifully maintained. Having spent many summers at another location on Lake George, the Boathouse's location on the lake offered another view of the gorgeous lake with many areas (inside and out) to take in the view.

Our room (one of the suites in the separate addition) was more spacious than the photos on the website would imply, and had many features (pillow top bed, fireplace, balcony) that added to our enjoyment of our stay. We were able to walk to a number of restaurant options in Bolton Landing.

Some reviewers have commented on what they perceived to be excessive rules and we were more than a little concerned before arriving based on these reviews; however, we found the "rules" to be a perfectly reasonable summary of expectations that Joe & Patti have put into place to make all guest's stays are comfortable and not disruptive to other guests.

We found both Patti and Joe to be very friendly - Joe appeared more outgoing than Patti, but his role is that of a host, while she is attending to many of the behind the scenes details. In addition, their staff is extremely helpful and friendly, adding to the welcoming spirit. Overall, we had a fantastic stay - better than we could have hoped for and we hope to return again another time!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

My husband and I just returned from our third perfect vacation at the Boathouse. We stay longer and longer each year (and cry harder and harder when it's time to leave!).

We cherish the restful peace and quiet in such a gorgeous setting. This B&B's location directly on top of the lake - with the mountains surrounding - is so unique. The grounds are lovely, and there are lots of pretty places to relax near the water. Breakfast (yum, yum, yum) is a really fun time to socialize with owners Patti and Joe and the other guests, but there are also lots of opportunities to be by ourselves - reading quietly in the main room, or taking a snooze on the big, cozy porch right over the water.

We really appreciate the funny, warm, and friendly hosts, Joe and Patti. Because of their attention-to-detail, guests of the Boathouse are assured of immaculate, beautifully appointed rooms (with dreamy beds!), delicious breakfasts, and guaranteed peace and privacy. Topping it off, manager Cheri and sweet Renee are absolute angels - we love them!

Can't wait until next year! :)))

  • Liked — Gorgeous and restful
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boathouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 44 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This "Lake Castle Estate" is the only B&B in the waters of Lake George. Featured in many books and magazines with its outstanding views of the lake & mountains. Historical site, former home of the Gold Cup Winner George Reis. This boathouse has seven rooms all with private baths, some with fireplaces and two person whirlpools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boathouse Bed And Breakfast
Boathouse Hotel Bolton Landing
Boathouse Bed & Breakfast Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.