We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore Resort Golf Course

The Sagamore Resort Golf Course
110 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
(518) 644-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Sports
Attraction details
Rome, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Golf”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked golf through a stay and play package. Greens were very good. Firm. Other then that you can tell the maintenance budget is limited. The course charges green fees like they have a million dollar maintenance budget when reality it is probably less then 200k. The worst part of the experience was a 6 pack of beer was $39.00 for bud light. That is not a type-o. Can of diet coke was $3.50. We were fortunate that we were all hung over from our $17 6-packs at Saratoga Spa so we didn't have to take a loan out to buy many beers. Neat lay out but way over priced. The pure silliness of charging $39 for a six pack of beer will cause 16 of my friends to never play the course again. The beverage manager should be fired.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sept. Wedding on Adirondack Boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great venue for a wedding, beautiful location and rooms. Salon was helpful/great with hair design. The boat docked to let guests board. Only unfortunate thing; wedding planner at facility had another bride booked for wedding. She paid for entire location so wedding planner at Sagamore was VERY LIMITED to letting us utilize all locations of the venue for photographs. Only allowed us the empty unused side of the building. We were not supposed to get photos in front of the stairs where the back drop would have been the hotel because she didn't want the brides seeing each other. Attempted to contact her regarding photos in other areas in real time (on her cell) but she was not responsive, didn't call me back.; (even though the other bride had gone already, we saw her leave on elevator) she stopped the groom from coming up the elevators to do some pictures on the 3rd floor. Unfortunate planning, I tried to call her but she seemed only interested in "her bride" that paid for the entire facility and not just rooms & dock usage. Oh well, the wedding I attended was beautiful non the less.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaapolis, MD
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Course, Nice - CONDITION, AWFUL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For the extremely high price $150, this course should be immaculate - it's not. It was in terrible shape - worse than a public course. No sand in your carts to fill any divots you make. When we called the Pro shop to bring some out, they told us they were out of sand - must have been all summer and for the price they are charging, thats ridiculous. The course is average but not worth playing more than once. Ever since the Sagamore got bought out a few years back, this course has gone extremely down hill. Too bad, it used to be worth playing and kept up immaculately.
Better course to go - Saratoga National, you won't regret it, just bring extra balls, and you'll want to go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenic hotel, poor management skills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We just left hotel after one week stay. Terrific family resort with scenic views, great for kids of all ages.

Fire alarm went off twice in one week which was ear piercing as fire alarms are in the rooms. The second one was NOT a false alarm as smoke filled the library from the lobby fireplace. Hotel management was able to get under control but THEY REFUSED to put out the fireplace and REFUSED TO CALL THE FIRE DEPT. I heard a guest called the fire department and the manager showed up at his door asking why he called! This happened in middle of night and all guests were left in the dark as there was no hotel staff outside giving all clear to guests. Considering hotel burned down in the past, you would think they would take this more seriously!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a very good nice course. Old Donald Ross design and not long but almost every hole plays a club longer then you think. It is a good test for any golfer but it is fair. Greens ran true. It is pricey. Believe we paid 150 a person (can't remember if that included a cart or not)......

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sagamore Resort Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to The Sagamore Resort Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore Resort Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.