We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Old Fashioned Fast Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Shack

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Shack
4944 Lake Shore Dr, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-4203 (Formerly Frank's Snack Bar)
+1 518-240-6007
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Port Reading, NJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashioned Fast Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Frank's features hamburgers, hot dogs, grilled cheese, breakfast and other coffee shop/luncheonette fare along with an ice-cream window. Seating is at the pleasantly shaded outdoor deck with lake views or in a small dining room.

We visited for lunch. I had a burger and shared an order of onion rings. The burger was a typical small, frozen patty, but was prepared well and served on a good bun. The onion rings were very good.

Service was good. Overall, Frank's is a pleasant place to have a quick, but unexceptional lunch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    5
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not a friendly owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

While we were waiting (over 10 min) for two shakes we asked to use the restroom and the owner was very rude. Then after another 5-10 min we were told the machine was broke, no shakes. Really? an ice cream stand right next to Ben and Jerry's. So that's where we went even though we wanted to stay local. Lesson learned.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value, good good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here fast to have a quick breakfast on our way to renting a boat. We figured the outdoor dining area would be extremely casual than one of the diners. Since the weather was blah, it was empty when we arrived. Our waitress took our order fast and we received our coffee almost instantly. Unfortunately the service went downhill as the restaurant gotten crowded. We waited for sugar for coffee. Then waited to flag the second waitress to get our check. Food was decent. Will go back again next time in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton landing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort food-family atmisphere-nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The place is real nice, very good food, hearty breakfest, tasty lunch's and family style ice cream outside.
I like its simplicy and tastyness.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ice Cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Walk up service we do for take out and ice cream. Service is a bit slow, but, it's a small town and they were busy. Prices are better than other ice cream in town, and it's ice cream.....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.