We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pumped up for Pumpernickel's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pumpernickel's Restaurant

Pumpernickel's Restaurant
4571 Lake Shore Dr, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
518-644-2106
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pumped up for Pumpernickel's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our first time to Pumpernickel's and it was a great choice. The salad bar is chock full of veggies and salads. The marble rye/pumpernickel bread was hot from the oven and three people in our party shared a sample platter which consisted of sauerbraten, weiner schnitzel, bratwurst, potato pancakes, red cabbage and sauerkraut. Truly authentic and delicious. We sat under the largest cuckoo-clock in the U.S. The service was great too. Megan was our server and she was delightful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Second visit a success too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Wife had prime rib - huge and perfectly done. My sis and I shared the Mayors dinner for two - enough for four and excellent! Salad bar wonderful. Service was excellent and the place is German pristine clean and neat. We had a marvelous time!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester,MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy German food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The food was outstanding. Get the Mayor's Platter if you like a little of everything. It says it's for 2 people but there is clearly enough for 3 ( and we are big eaters). All the staff was very friendly. We will be going back. If you like German food or always wanted to try it look no further you have found the perfect place

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We look forward to dinner at Pumpernickels all year. We always go once on our annual trip to Lake George. The service is great as is the food. We get the mayors platter and have the leftovers the next day. The staff is so friendly and the service is great. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You lost us Hans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

After going there for many years, last night my $29.99 veal with shrimp was actually terrible. Veal was chewy and tasteless, as was the shrimp.
Portions every year seem to get smaller, and prices get bigger. Prices have gone up $10 a plate from last year. My meal at mr. B was better tasting. After over 15 yrs Hans, you have lost a bunch of loyal customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickel's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pumpernickel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumpernickel's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.