We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come Hungry and Leave happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pumpernickel's Restaurant

Pumpernickel's Restaurant
4571 Lake Shore Dr, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
518-644-2106
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Montreal
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Come Hungry and Leave happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This large and simple restaurant has excellent German food, efficient staff and good prices. It is the sort of place where it is difficult to choose one main dish from the menu - they are all so good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently dined at Pumpernickels for the fifth time in as many summers. A visit to the Lake George area is not complete without dining at this wonderful German restaurant in Bolton Landing. The food is excellant and the portions are generous. Meals are authentic German and and the soup and salad bar is included with the entrees. They offer a wide selection of beers on draft as well. If there is any room left for dessert after the meal I recommend getting up to take a look at the delicious homemade dessert selections, including outstanding streudel and black forest cake. The service is great, the staff is friendly and accomodating as is the entire experience at Pumpernickel's. Durning the summer tourist season this place fills up around six o'clock, so arrive ahead of the crowd to aviod a wait, or enjoy some time in the bar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Family Style German Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Every year we make an annual visit to this Lake George area icon of a restaurant. Pumpernickles has been turning out authentic German cuisine for many years and for the most part, everything is good. You enter through a bar area where several German beers are on tap. This evening, we had a dark Oktoberfest beer and a Spaten beer.

Pumpernickles is best described as being decorated like a German stube, with lots of knotty pine and German decor. There is a giant cuckoo clock which has seen better days since it keeps incorrect time and the cuckoo bird no longer pops out. Tables are covered with plastic tablecloths and paper napkins, definitely family style.

All entrees come with a soup and salad bar which was well stocked and fresh. After the salad bar, I had a Wurst Salat, German wurst sliced up and mixed with onions and pieces of cheese. The portion was over-sized, as are all of the dishes at Pumpernickles. I had the roast pork shank which is served with sauerkraut and German noodles. The meat fell off the bone and it was properly cooked. The gravy smothered the sauerkraut, mixing the two distinct flavors together. Perhaps this is how they do it in Germany.

Service, provided mostly by waitresses from Belarus, was friendly and a little too efficient (quick to take plates away and bring the bill). After the hearty portions, there was certainly no room for dessert, however, Pumpernickles features a large selection of cakes which they serve with a spritz of "canned" whipped cream.

If you're looking to try something different while visiting the Lake George area, give Pumpernickles a try. You won't leave hungry!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The experience was fun - a friendly and efficient staff, great German atmosphere, the largest cuckoo clock in America, and bountiful servings of food, not to mention great selections of beer. My wife and I ordered the beef goulash and potato pancakes which were mildly disappointing, but my daughter and her family found the food delicious. Servings were so large it's no sacrifice to split a plate ($5 charge) unless you plan to take doggie bags and enjoy them the next day. Deserts were wonderful but please - - dont count calories.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Two years ago my husband and I were visiting the Lake George area and went to Pumpernickels. We love German food but there are no German restaurants in our area of New Jersey, so when we planned another trip back this week, one of the things on our "to do" list was going back to Pumpernickels! It hasn't changed.

He had the saurbratten and I had the roullade and both were delicious (although I've probably misspelled them!). The prices are a little high but neither of us was able to finish the generous portions that could easily provide another meal.

Wish there were soft candles on the table to give the place a little more atmosphere, but with good food and good sized portions, that doesn't matter quite as much.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickel's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pumpernickel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumpernickel's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.