We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cate's Italian Garden

Cate's Italian Garden
4952 Main St, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
(518) 644-2041
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Vernon, VT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food and pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The wife and I enjoyed both our meals and the kids loved the pizza. Service was good and the atmosphere was excellent. Would recommend making a reservation as there is always a line. Price matched other restaurants in the area. Overall a very good experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    67
    27
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We ate at Cate's twice while on vacation. The pizza was very good and I craved it all week. We had lunch there once and it was good, a little pricey. We tried to go back again for lunch but they had not opened the inside and it was very hot outside. They let us walk away as opposed to letting us sit inside (which they opened about 10 minutes later when the outside filled up). Would definitely go back for pizza but nothing else.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely rude and unproffesional server”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We recently went to Cate's Italian Garden on the recommendation of the hotel we were staying at. Overall, the food was good and we were welcomed at the hostess stand and seated by an older woman who was very pleasant. Our problem was our server, Steven, who was rude and condescending from the second he approached our table. He was curt and we felt as if we had to beg him to stand at the table to listen to our requests for bread, water etc. He was more interested in the table next to us that appeared to be spending more money. Granted, we were not a "big money" table - having pizza and appetizers, but we dont feel like we deserved to be treated as second class citizens. He even rolled his eyes when we asked him questions about dessert. Why would a restaurant with good food, a nice atmosphere employ someone that clearly does not like what they do for a living!! Upon leaving my sister stopped at the hostess stand and told the young man with glasses about how rude Stephen was and was told "he has been here a long time and does a great job." No sorry or anything. We would go back to Cate's but would request that we never have this server again.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Never Again-- Extremely Unprofessional Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is actually a review of the Pizza Cafe' next door, same owner. We actually first wanted a table at the original Cate's and was told wait was very long but if we just wanted pizza, the cafe next door could seat us right away. With two kids hungry and wanting just pizza, we said ok. We walk over there and stand there for quite awhile until finally we asked the hostess who was busy singing and talking to other employees, if we should just seat ourselves. She told us to go ahead and she would be right there. We should of left then. The dining are was dark, dingy and had a broken glass table lantern on our table. The employees were walking back and forth carrying things to the kitchen that my husband said he felt like we were put in a service entrance. The pizza was the worst pizza I have every had - and I'm not fussy about pizza. We left most of it. The icing on the cake was the owner, who was bouncing between both restaurants. She apparently opened up the ladies room on one of her employees and was cackling like a hyena so loudly and unprofessionally. There were tables of customers, including us, seated right where this was happening. She never acknowledged any of the customers, and seemed very obnoxious. Based on this experience, I would never give the restaurant next door my money. Glad we only wasted $30 bucks for one pizza and four drinks, rather than much more for a meal. Never again..

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

I read the Trip Advisor reviews parked in Bolton Landing, and we (2 adults, kids 6 and 10) chose Cate's, even after reading a sign out front that said "pizza and salads only until 5:00". Walked up to the hostess stand around 4:30 and were told "Pizza and salad until 5:00."

We sat under the awning on the patio and split a large pizza with meatball and pepperoni. Pizza was good and we ate it all.

I can see what some people have said about the service and treatment of customers. Our server was good, polite, and got us everything we asked for in a timely manner, but the whole staff clearly had it's focus on the impending dinner rush.

While waiting for our drinks, a woman at the hostess stand screamed "Hey!" at someone on the sidewalk. I thought she saw someone trying to steal her car, but she was merely saying hi. I knew immediately that this was the woman another reviewer complained about recently. She seemed to be in charge of the place. Sitting next to the hostess station we got to witness several interactions with customers. After she seated a couple of parties where they wanted to sit (dining room or outside), a couple with a kid about 4 years old approached. She asked them to leave their umbrella outside, and then said, "Never mind. I'm going to put you in the cafe (the attached sister restaurant). It's closed."

Another woman came in for a table for 3 adults and an infant. "How many seats do you need?"
"Um, 4. Make one a high chair."
"So you need THREE seats and a high chair." Very passive/aggressive.

Her demeanor completely changed whenever one of her regulars came in, and she treated them much better. A party of 11 came in and got the "summer visitor" treatment until one of them said "I ate here the other day." Instant switch to "regular" status--moving tables, big smiles, offering to split the party into two tables, etc. With a few kids in the party, I suspect they would have been banished to the closed cafe if not for the return diner among them.

Long review short: decent pizza, solid service, and fair prices--but I wouldn't go again. I can't support a restaurant with a biased, borderline rude, "face of the business".

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cate's Italian Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cate's Italian Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cate's Italian Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.