We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bella Vita Ristorante

La Bella Vita Ristorante
110 Sagamore Road, Sagamore Resort, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
518-644-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good food, nice location, great views of the lake, nice music, great wine list. But verrryyyyy slow service. Friendly staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    73
    34
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Above average hotel fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good meal...very good for hotel fare. Pasta and meat dishes both nice. Good service at dinner. Caesar salad should have been better. Same for dessert selection.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elegant, romantic & delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant was our big splurge while on our 'mini-moon' to Lake George. We called ahead for reservations but didn't really need to since the restaurant was on the empty side at 6:30 since it was the off-season for Lake George. Our waiter was very attentive and helped us select a nice bottle of champagne to celebrate our recent nuptials. The food was absolutely delicious - best dinner we had while in Lake George. Although the prices are a little on the high side it was worth it for the experience and views and worth the splurge. The views from the hotel were breathtaking and I wish it had been warmer so we could have sat outside on the balcony that surrounds the restaurant. If you want a romantic restaurant that you can dress up for dinner for I would highly recommend La Bella Vita, but make sure you are prepared for the cost that comes with it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved the food, lot's of choices. We did find it a bit expensive, especially the drinks! It is nice to have it on site and not to have to get in your car to drive somewhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LG, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What happened.........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

this past Saturday night? For the last year we, Bolton residents have raved about La Bella Vita. This same group of 8 enjoyed an outstanding meal 6 months ago. The evening started with 8 of their substantial martinis and much vino. All were gearing up for a wonderful B-day celebration. The group had shared hors d'ouvres and cocktails prior to arriving so apps were passed by. Salads all around then on to the entrees. My usual favorite is the papardelle with braised shortrib ragu. I thought was eating Chef Boyardee from a can. The person to my right had over cooked piccata with a tasteless pasta. The kitchen knows better or at least it use to. Another's lamb ordered rare arrived with nary a hint of pink much less red. To their credit, they did take the meal back and returned a proper dish.

Our server proved to be the be surly and almost confrontational 'when' we could get his attention.

The companionship made for a rousing evening inspite of the shortcomings with service and cuisine. At over $200 per couple one's expectations are high. La Bella Vita failed and it will be a while before we return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Vita Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Bella Vita Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bella Vita Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.