We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton Beans

Bolton Beans
4967 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
(518) 644-3447
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice during our vacation. The food is great, not crazy overdone. Items you would actually make at home. We had bagels that were really fresh, great French toast and yummy omletes. The only complaint is that they HAVE to figure out how to get rid of the flies that are there buzzing around the outside tables. Maybe a big fan for some air current. Don't know but we will sit inside next time. It was that bad. On a positive note, my son loved the hot chocolate!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    46
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglaston, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really liked Bolton Beans. Funky small diner also with outdoor seating. Food prepared with very fresh healthy ingredients. Really enjoyed our lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Bolton's Beans is a funky (good word) diner in Boltons Landing. Wish I had gone here instead of the buffet at the Sagamore our first day. The Sagamore breakfast is $22 a person and is fine but the food was nothing to write home about. On the other hand I had a great omelet at Bolton Beans, fresh ingredients, wonderfully cooked. It came with great bacon (not the cheap kind, tasted like center cut), and non greasy home fries. Breakfast for 2 was close to the price for breakfast for 1 at the Sagamore buffet and in my opinion a lot tastier and more peaceful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

And it's served in a very large mug. The super potatoes were the big hit in our party. There's a lot of traffic on this raod and parking is tricky but look for the parking lot along side the diner; it's kind of hard to see from the road but there are usually spaces available. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service needs A LOT of work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Food was great, as it always has been. But the service was remakrably poor. It took more than 20 minutes for a couple of omelets and the place wasn't even full. Too many servers who don't know to ask customers for coffee refills. Seeing plates piled up under the heat lamps, with no one delivering them, was disconcerting. And watching the chefs shuffle and reshuffle potatoes back and forth between plates was thoroughly unappetizing. Not sure we'll return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton Beans also viewed

 

Been to Bolton Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton Beans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.