We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stay for hockey games” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8 Hawley Street, Binghamton, NY 13901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Binghamton
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Convenient stay for hockey games”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times while attending hockey games. The arena is right across the street and the amenities at the Holiday Inn make it a perfect overnight get away for us. We usaully hit the pool which is awesome and have dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Several times the executive chef has come around and checked that everything was good. We have always had a great meal with great service here. We have gotten rooms with views of the river and of the city and have enjoyed both. The rooms on the city side are smaller. When we had a room with the extra room attached is was very large and roomy. We have also walked around the city and it does have a tired look, but it also has alot of history.

Room Tip: If you need room ask for the King executive rooms There is also a room with a jaccuzi tub ask if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGMAR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Mark Z, thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We have many guests who enjoy the hockey games due to our proximity to the Arena. Thank you for mentioning our Executive Chef as he speaks with as many guests as he can. Please ask for a King Executive room type as you will be pleased!! Thanks again, Bob Greene, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    74
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
76
29
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salida
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

During my travels to Binghamton I usually stay at the Holiday Inn. I enjoy its central location. Things in downtown are really looking up with new restaurants and brewpubs bringing new energy to a old scene. The staff at the HI are very friendly and professional. I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGMAR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We love hearing from bloggers who have created so many reviews over the years. We agree with your comments that there are more nice places to go in downtown Binghamton. A special thank you to mentioning are staff are friendly!! Bob Greene, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Booked the Hotel through Entertainment Rewards 10:30 pm. on August 30th for night of August 31st, got to the hotel to check in about 4 pm., and were told we had 'no showed' - system actually booked us in for the night before instead. Hotel accommodated us and comped the room for us for the night before we had prepaid for already. Was a trip for my wife's birthday.

We traveled with a 12 year with special needs, who totally enjoyed the pool (twice) and the stay, while also taking in the Mets game in town.

Thank you to Sarah and the onsite Manager for accommodating us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGMAR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I was very excited to read your review for the end of August. In my job, I love when my staff reacts to circumstances like yours with the no-show converted to a nice stay. Sarah will be so pleased to learn you had given her a shout-out for her service. Thank you again and we would love to have you back as our guests again! Bob Greene, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night. A Friday, yes, but when I requested 2 queen beds our receptionist advised no queens left only doubles. Three of us traveling together my son and husband both very tall. I was expecting an alternative suggestion such as sofa bed but a cot was offered.
Now for the room! It must be a last resort room because it was in need attention. First the bathroom fittings were falling out of the wall, the bathroom was quite shabby in all, the floor was dirty and little things like that are noticed. The cot my son slept in was as old as you can get and very creaky. We had to make space for it because it was just dumped in the room while we were out for a walk. There were not enough towels for all of us so we chased a housemaid and asked her for extras. I really fell like we were an inconvenience rather than paying guests. We went out for dinner but when I arrived back to the hotel inquired as to where I might get a cup of coffee and was b told that there was a Dunkin Doughnuts within driving distance. My husband said surely there was coffee in the restaurant and that was met with yes there probably was and that I could try there. Come on, that should be something that is offered all the time and known about by reception. Breakfast was good and reasonable and I thank them for that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGMAR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
DebL53, I just finished reading your comments for the second time and please let me apologize for your experience. The condition of the bathroom and cot were inexcusable. Thank you for mentioning that the breakfast was good and reasonable. I note you are from Sydney Au, my daughter spent a year there and loved it. Thank you again for your comments. Bob Greene, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good upstate NY hotel in Binghamton. Good location on the river near restaurants in the city. The rooms are small, typical of a retro fitted property. The hotel has been renovated. Front desk personnel are always helpful and professional. The dinning room staff not quite so. Have had several poor experiences with breakfast and dinner service. Would gladly stay at the property but would eat out in the city. Nearby is a great place to eat, called 510 Restaurant. Very good.

Room Tip: Upper floors are nicer, especially with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGMAR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We appreciate your pleasant comments regarding our hotel and our front desk staff. I am concerned, and I apologize for your troubles in the restaurant. If you return to our hotel, it would be my pleasure to invite you to dinner as my guest. Bob Greene, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atco, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Me and my girlfriend found ourselves stranded when driving to Canada. We decided between Holiday Inn, Hilton and Days. Hilton is very expensive compared to the other two, so it was out. Days Inn has awful ratings and looks crummy, pass. Holiday Inn was left and they offered us a room for $108 a night, with AAA.

The room is spacious and nice, typical amenities of a hotel room and toiletries. That's nice, but unfortunately there's nothing to do in Binghamton outside of a few bars, all of which seem to close early. It seems other people agree because the hotel was empty. I only saw a handful of guests, I would guess more than 1/4 of the rooms were empty. It's pretty outrageous to charge a stranded guest a rate that is rather expensive, especially given the lack of tourist stuff to do in this city. The room was nice, but the area stinks and the prices were expensive. I stayed in a nicer room at a Red Roof Inn in Columbus, Ohio for $40 cheaper, which is a much more interesting city.

I'm going to check the Grand Royale if I have to stay here another night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGMAR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Mark, I appreciate you taking the time to very candidly write about your Binghamton experience and our hotel. You did get to experience some of Binghamton's nightlife and I hope you had fun. There are more nice places to see here in Binghamton and if you return it would be my pleasure to point them out. Thank you again! Bob Greene, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Mike at the Hawley Street Holiday Inn was professional, courteous and knowledgeable in assisting me with booking a room for Alumni Weekend this month! He made the experience fully enjoyable and were it not for his efforts I may have made the mistake of booking elsewhere! Great job, Mike!

Room Tip: Go Bearcats!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGMAR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are extremely pleased you booked your room with us for Alumni Weekend. We have many returning Binghamton University alumni who stay with us. Mike had a huge smile on his face when I read your comments to him and a big thank you for that!! Bob Greene, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown

Address: 2-8 Hawley Street, Binghamton, NY 13901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in our comfortable and newly re-designed guest rooms with our signature sleep package and crisp new cotton bedding. Stay in contact with work and friends with our free WiFi or simply enjoy amenities that make your stay feel at home like coffee maker, iron and board and hairdryers. Dining is an easy decision when children 12 and under dine for free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown Hotel Binghamton
Binghamton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.