We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No dollar menu here & that's OK!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Europe

Taste of Europe
440 Upper Court St, Binghamton, NY 13904
+1 607-296-4213
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 177 Restaurants in Binghamton
Cuisines: Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Taste of Europe serves a unique blend of recipes from the old country while using the freshest ingredients available to create dishes that make a memorable dining experience for all individuals. Because of their commitment to give people as real-as-possible taste of Europe, they make all of their dishes from scratch and serve only the finest foods made with the freshest ingredients while avoiding preservatives and chemically-based products, just as it was done in the old country. The time and the effort put into making each perogy, holupki and each of the other dishes guarantees only the best quality.
Binghamton, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No dollar menu here & that's OK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Don't let the small size fool you. This restaurant ROCKS! Best authentic Eastern European menu around. Very highly recommend it for terrific dining experience. Oh, the deserts are out of this world good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a cute little place located in the heart of downtown Binghamton. We went for Restaurant Week to try something different and we were glad we did. Everything was delicious and homeade. Since we weren't familiar with Ukrainian foods we ordered a few different things and shared plates. The borscht soup was good and the fried potato pierogi were bite size and tasty. My personal favorites were the chicken schnitzel which was pounded nice and thin and had a wonderful crusted parmesan breading, and the holupki were delicious-- not like the traditional holupki I've had before. This place is also very affordable--our bill was under $30. We will definitely return to try some of their other entrees.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Find in Binghamton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Taste of Europe came highly recommended by the staff at the Grand Royale Hotel, just a few blocks away. Extremely friendly and hospitable owner helped us select dishes from the menu; the holupki (stuffed cabbage), stuffed eggplant, and plov were especially good, and we also enjoyed the chicken kotletu and cabbage salad. It was also interesting to try the Russian soda and some kvas. This is a nice place that offers tasty food at a great value; I'll gladly return the next time I'm in Binghamton.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Home Cooked, Great Tasting, and Inexpensive - too bad about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just had to try this place out after seeing it on the internet. Tiny little place but they make up for it by giving you a great sampling of typical (and some not that typical) Ukrainian dishes. They accommodated my request to "mix it up" and gave me a sampling of their perogies (steamed and delicious but tiny), Holobtsi (stuffed cabbage uniquely wrapped in the form of a triangle) and Kotletu (the Ukrainian answer to burgers with finely ground meat). All were perfectly cooked and tasty. Alex, the server from Kyiv, was extremely attentive and caring and recommended the Strawberry Soda which was light and flavorful.

Their other offerings sounded great and I only wish I had been hungry enough to keep going. My entire lunch (pictured) with the drink came to only $14.00!!! Wish we had such I place closer to where I live.

The only negative (and it would not deter me from going there again) is the neighborhood but I assume the rent is very low and so they pass it along with their pricing. Parking is only available on the side streets (a 1/2 block away) and the trip to the restrooms can be memorable (it's in the dark basement and shared with the retail store next door).

They could really make it a first rate food destination if they could move to a nicer part of town.

Congrats to the owner Igor and the kitchen staff for bringing good Ukrainian home cooked food to the public.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome County
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cute little restaurant with good food and great prices...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Taste of Europe is a cute little restaurant downtown with some nice European food and a friendly atmosphere. Got some tea and fried pierogi and I was extremely satisfied and full.

Pros... Great food, good prices, reasonably quick service, cozy inside.

Cons... Small selection of food (the menu I was given was extremely limited, and only had a handful of dishes listed) and it's quite cramped despite the cozy atmosphere- everything's tiny inside.

I'll give it a 4 out of 10. Not great but a decent little restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Europe also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.