We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upcoming renovation will be great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Water Street, Binghamton, NY 13901 (Formerly Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Binghamton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Upcoming renovation will be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We see enormous potential in this place. River rooms have great views and property is spacious. Rooms are decent size and at this point you can see how they are going to change...but keep expectations low, bed wasn't great but room was clean, just a bit worn around the edges. maybe ask about how upgrades are going when you book reservation. On the other hand, the health club is the best we've ever seen in a hotel. Exhaustive supply of exercise equipment and weights and mats, jump ropes, etc. With lots of space. Pool was decent length, had two roped lanes for laps and toasty hot tub. Saunas too and very clean and ample locker rooms.
We didn't want formality of hotel's bistro for dinner and place across the street - lost dog
cafe - was really really good. A bit loud but eclectic atmosphere and diverse, fresh food offerings along with solid beers on tap.

Room Tip: Ask about renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    199
    63
    25
    14
See reviews for
197
112
37
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Location certainly good, but hotel is old and dated. There are notes in rooms that they will be renovating soon, but that fact aside, I usually expect shower curtains that don't have black mold on them and bathroom to be in order for over $100 per night! The toilet was extremely loud and made a noise I would not expect from any toilet. The water kept running when I turned the faucet off in the sink, though it would turn off if I pushed hard enough. The tub held water around my feet during my shower. The manager knocked some off my room charge for these difficulties.
The continental breakfast consisted of a few cereals, Belgian waffles, bagels, muffins, mealy apples, bananas, and the usual selection of beverages. An ok breakfast but nothing to rave about.
On the positive side, the desk help was pleasant and helpful, the beds comfortable and the air conditioning functioned properly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We wanted to stay over in Binghamton on our way through the Catskills to western NYS. I had not been to Binghamton in a long time, and was shocked at the depressed downtown area. Many storefronts are closed. The Riverwalk, however, is clearly investing huge sums in trying to revitalize the area, presumably by attracting conference business.

As of July 2011, the renovations are mostly complete. The don't hide it; there is a sign announcing what's been accomplished and what is left to do. Our room on the 10th floor, which they call Penhouse -- a bit much perhaps, was clean, fresh, and reasonably up-to-date. There was a tube TV, but the sign said 37" LCDs were coming this summer. The linens and towels and shampoo were nice. It was more than adequate; it was actually nice. The beds were very comfortable. There were two arm chairs and a small work desk and chair. The fridge/sink area/coffee maker was fine, if a bit worn around the edges.

With your room comes free access to the attached health club. There is a huge selection of cardio equipment and weights and a larger-sized lap pool with built-in sauna. The water was very warm. Goggles would have been nice for the chlorine. There is a free-swimming area for kids to play in. A lifeguard was on duty. The mens' locker room was very nice and clean, with amenities like a swim-suit spinner and high-end scale. There was also a sauna. It wasn't really hot, so turn it on before you want to use it so that it will be hot when you want it.

The real surprise, however, was the Bistro restaurant. Coming from Boston and being accustomed to fine dining in larger metropolitan cities, I had low expectations. We were told that there was a new chef from NYC. The food was fantastic. The offered $20 prix fixe meal started with a shaved fennel, roasted beet, chevre, and smoked almond salad. The main was tenderloin (OK, a bit overcooked, but not bad), with braised mustard greens, wild mushrooms, fingerling potatoes, and a nice sauce. My daughter had the shirmp and clam tempura with a spicy remoulade. My wife's salad of arugula, skirt steak, pickled red onions, blue cheese (I think), almonds, and a nice balsamic dressing was large and delicous. Both desserts were great. The bar had a wider-than-expected selection of spirits, and happily made us Boulevardiers once we provided the recipe (http://www.kindredcocktails.com/cocktail/boulevardier).

The parking area was a bit sketchy because of the surroundings. There is a private parking area in the back by the river (perhaps safer -- not sure) and an open one across the street in the front. Our bicycles were still on the car in the morning. There is a run-down garage which was unused.

Our room was very reasonably priced, as was the Bistro. A very good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at the Riverwalk as our stop over on our way to Sesame Street. We were greeted by Scott who couldn't have been more helpful he gave us all sorts of directions to different places we wanted to go since there is a lot of construction in Binghamton right now. We stayed in a Penthouse which gave my husband and I a king bed and the kids had a pullout ( that was very comfy) queen bed, the room was spacious enough and had a fridge. We got dinner from their restaurant and the portions were very generous!! Plus the food was great. For the price we ate every meal here and would gladly do it again. We requested more pillows and within 2 minutes I had more. The room we were in was a little dated, but everything seemed clean enough. The gym was wonderful. It was by far the nicest and most selection I have ever seen for a hotel by far. They also had a child care room with lots of toys and staff, so we used this while I packed the van. It was free of charge because of the promotion that was on, but my husband played with them. Breakfast was continental, but decent size. Their juice wasn't 100% real juice and the cereals were high sugar selections - but the kids enjoyed the treat.

Room Tip: Research the internet rates to get the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesaning
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in early June. Our room was large, very clean and the bed very comfortable. The continental breakfast is basic but good. They have a nice pool and hot tub. Our room was pretty nice but could use some updating. Our son had a different room on the ninth floor and although it was clean it was badly in need of new carpeting and wall covering. They are working on updating though. The only thing I noticed was a lack of electrical outlets in the room. I needed to plug my laptop in and had to unplug a lamp to use the outlet. It is very quiet and we slept well. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would stay her again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stigs17
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed a couple nights to see the Senators win the Eastern Conference title.

Pros: Gorgeous lobby and elegant dining area. Rooms are very spacious, a good 25% larger than a standard 3-star hotel. Comfortable bed, firm mattress. Large bathroom with instant hot water and great shower pressure. Good soundproofing - I never heard anything and even on the third floor, street traffic was reduced to a distant hum. Efficient check-in/out with predominantly friendly staff. Free parking was appreciated. Gorgeous restaurant with delicious food, terrific service and reasonable prices. Did not try the fitness center/pool/spa but they looked pleasant. Easy access to the I-81 and within walking distance of all areas of interest in downtown Binghamton, while away from the noise.

Cons: Lacking a proper office chair and/or a comfortable evening chair. Work desk is tiny with a hard chair with no recline. A more diverse in-room pillow selection would be nice (all four were large and thick). Room decor needs to be updated to be brought in line with the rest of the hotel, as well as the tube TVs and more updated lighting. Proper in-room drinking glasses would be another nice touch. Vending machines were all empty.

Tip: You will want an upper floor in the back for the best view of the river. As of May 2011, they are renovating the top (10th) floor.

Overall, a great stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We have stayed here for golf trips for the last few years, although the hotel has had a number of names and owners. The staff has always been very friendly and the rooms clean, large, quiet and comfortable. The current owners have been making an effort to spruce the hotel up. The indoor pool, hot tub and exercise facilities are very good. The hotel is in a good central location. We certainly plan to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAltizer, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear George-Laurie,
Thank you so much for your posting. We really appreciate your feedback. On December 15, 2010 this hotel was purchased by a great group of owners and has become the Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel & Conference Center. The new owners and management have been able to make many improvements including major renovations to the rooms, lobby, restaurant, and banquet space. They also built a brand new fitness center with a swimming pool, spa, and services available for purchase such as massages. This hotel is better than it has ever been. We can't wait for your return visit so that we can imipress you further!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton

Address: 225 Water Street, Binghamton, NY 13901 (Formerly Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, where the little things mean everything! We offer the finest accommodations in the Binghamton area. Guests enjoy free use of the Riverwalk Athletic Club located onsite and fine dining at our restaurant, the River Bistro. We also have exceptional facilities for gala occasions and corporate meetings. We can host events from 2 to 1,000 people and have a variety of meeting spaces to fit the needs of any event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel Binghamton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.