We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific oasis in the Shandaken area of NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peekamoose Restaurant

Peekamoose Restaurant
8373 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410
+1 845-254-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Big Indian
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A terrific oasis in the Shandaken area of NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We are lucky to have such a fine quality restaurant in the Phoenicia area where gourmet food is served in a professional manner. Their is a real paucity of fine restaurants for dinner unless you are willing to drive into Woodstock. I would highly recommend the short bibs of beef- outstanding - served on a bed of pureed parsnips (yum) and the roast chicken (sans dark meat.) The Arctic char was also excellent but the vegetarian meal should NOT be ordered (tasteless.)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    61
    16
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food in the Castkills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Food was unique and reasonable in price. Staff was quick when needed to be and took their time when needed. They use local products when possible. Dined there twice in four days.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Gem Inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Peekammose was recommended to us by a 10 year old staying in the same Lodge as us, so we went.. It doesn't look much from the outside, but inside it is a really nice indoor/outdoor restaurant with a slightly eclectic feel, serving great food and some interesting beers (I had a coffee beer..).
We'd definitely return if in the area again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A delicious dinner tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We dined at Peekamoose during our "mini-moon" getaway after our September wedding. We had purchased a dinner tasting option from our hotel (Roxbury motel, they're great, but this isn't the place for that review). We absolutely loved every single dish that was brought out to us. We were served a soup, pasta, entree, and dessert (I know there was a squash soup, cavatelli, gnocchi, short ribs, and sea scallops, but can't remember the last soup). All dishes were amazing. Additionally, the staff were all incredibly friendly, and the owner was even serving us some of our dishes, making sure that everything was going well and to share some stories about how the restaurant started.

In all, a great find, and we can't wait to swing by this winter during our inevitable ski trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of the forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel manager at graham&co in nearby Phoenicia recommended this place. Surprisingly excellent service, delicious sirloin, great wine and a fun bar scene. Bonfire in the back with s'mores was a great way to end the evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madzilla23, Owner at Peekamoose Restaurant, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! We just love that families enjoy our space as we set out to create a place for adults and the little ones. With an indoor treehouse playroom and a all-you-can-roast marshmallow policy at our bonfire - tends to make the kids AND adults happy! Hope to have you around our table again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peekamoose Restaurant also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Roxbury, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 

Been to Peekamoose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peekamoose Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.