We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deelish in the Catskills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peekamoose Restaurant

Peekamoose Restaurant
8373 SR 28, Big Indian, NY 12410
845 254 6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Big Indian
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Westchester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Deelish in the Catskills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Manhattan culinary sophistication with a relaxed rural vibe. The short-ribs, trout and salads were excellent. The home-made ice-cream (with pistachio brittle) was heavenly. Much of the food is apparently locally sourced. The owner was lovely, as was the server. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    178
    45
    12
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant! Delicious food, great service, lovely beer & wine options. A must-visit if you're nearby. We had the cheese fondue, short ribs, roast chicken, and some of their homemade ice cream for dessert - and left very full and happy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing experience ... For the whole group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went there last weekend and had a lovely experience ... Interesting and delicious food in decent size portions(we had no room for dessert), nice ambiance and great fun for the kids in our group thanks to the playroom. Even in the snowy weather, the kids were still so excited to toast marshmallows. So happy we found this restaurant. We will definitely return the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A surprise.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Not too many restaurants in the area so we pulled in. Not knowing what to expect we found a very nice restaurant with good service. All the items we ordered were pretty good and very flavorful. Portion size was a bit skimpy but we kind of expected that looking at the menu. We shared the ShortRibs and the Gnocchi dish. enjoyed and would look forward to returning next time we are in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I would drive the 4 hours to eat dinner here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Where do I start,,,best meal we've had in a long time.Everything about this place was awesome.We were a party of six,and we for the most part tried something different and we all tasted each others food.Two of us had the drink,prickly pear,which was yummy and flavorful.We picked quite a few things from the menu and everything was delicious,two of therm in our party had the steak and they loved it.Just want to say the flour less chocolate cake was the best I've had.I loved the light fixture in the dining room and it was cozy and romantic.Also loved the fire pit outside the bar.Just want to say the French woman that was our waitress,was so funny and very friendly.We will be back!Definatly would recommend everyone to try this place.The outside look very plain but we worth going in as they welcome you with open arms like you are visiting family.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peekamoose Restaurant also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Roxbury, Catskill Region
 
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 

Been to Peekamoose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peekamoose Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.