We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Starlite Motel to your Saves list
Starlite Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   8722 Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wantagh, New York
1 review
“Nice Place !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our stay at Starlite Motel was enjoyable. The rooms are nicely decorated, neat and clean. The bath towels are like new, soft and luxurious, not the hard white crap that many hotels offer. The basket of breakfast goodies was a nice as was the fresh quart of milk placed in our fridge. The location is great, between Phoenicia and Margaretville. They have cell phone booster service so your phone will work around the hotel (service is spotty up there, this is a great convenience).
Michelle is very nice , thanks !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    40
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
61
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

When my husband and I need to get away from our aprtment in the city, we book a room at the Starlite Motel. We've stayed there about four times now. Michele and her family are wonderful hosts and we feel a real warmth from their welcome. Our dog loves to poke around the yard and turns his nose up to the sky, breathing in the fresh air and nature. There are some great local attractions but we are happy just getting takeout and eating out on the back porch too. We sleep like the dead and go back refreshed but also longing for our next trip back to Big Indian.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at Starlite Motel two years in a row for our two experiences at Mountain Jam Festival at Hunter Mountain. Both times have been enjoyable and very comfortable. (The drive to Mountain Jam is about 27 minutes.) The breakfast basket is always a delight to rummage through and the hotel is very clean and well managed. There is a gorgeous back area and deck that can be used for grilling, picnicking or just relaxing. The kitchen is a plus for those who like to have a sense of "being home" while traveling or just like to carry food back and forth.
Overall-another wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went back for a weekend retreat and were again pleased with the place. The place is kept very clean and Michelle the owner does a great job setting up the kitchen area with everything you need to prepare anything from a cup of coffee to a barbeque. We will return.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in a kingsize bed which is our preference. The place is set off the main road an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Starlite Motel. The room was clean and festively decorated (nothing beige here!). The kitchenette definitely added value and convenience. The weather didn't allow us to make much use of the back yard area until the last evening of our stay, but there are picnic tables and grills available for customer use, screen porches, and upon request we were provided with firewood (and marshmallows) for a lovely campfire pit. The area is beautiful, and although it was a bit of a drive to get to most of the destinations we had in mind, driving through the mountains was easy to take.

I will add that the service was friendly, responsive and prompt. Wi-fi is included, as well as some Roku channels like Netflix and HBO-GO. It was chilly weather during our stay, and the heat was quick and ample.

That said, there are some down-sides. The sound insulation between rooms is not great. Activity in the parking lot and in nearby rooms (doors closing, suitcases thumping) were a bit more present than one would hope. The fridge, while a nice amenity, was noisy. There was need for some minor repairs in the bathroom. Water temperature was inconsistent (e.g. shower).

All in all, I'd say it was well worth it, a good value for the $, with nice touches everywhere that make the best out of what was clearly an old-style motor lodge. It's been rehabbed nicely and is operated with care and attention to customers' enjoyment.

Room Tip: Because sound insulation is not great, ask for the room at the far end of the row for more privacy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, NH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Every year we go to the Catskills for Memorial Day weekend. Every year, there's never a question on where to stay... the Starlite!! It seems like every year, there's something a little different, something refreshed. The rooms are cozy and clean, the grounds fantastic, the owners - well, I can't say enough there! From the breakfast basket of goodies in every room, to the colorful picnic tables out back, to the individual BBQ grills, to the screen house out back to enjoy a meal in, there's nothing not to love! Talk about being treated like family. Michelle, the owner, offered to DRIVE us to the restaurant down the street because it was raining and we were on motorcycles. Try getting THAT anyplace else! Not going to happen.
I sure wish them continued success - they've put time, effort, and love into this place, and it shows. That's why I make next year's reservation before I leave!
Oh yeah.. and they're biker-friendly too. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Earlier today, my wife and I, and my wife's extended family, finished a three - day stay at the Starlite Motel, over the Memorial Day Holiday Weekend.(Our family group occupied four separate units ). Everyone in our large group agreed that the Starlite Motel was a sweet deal for the modest price we paid. The rooms were immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, and both comfortable and spacious.The refrigerator and kitchenette were very useful and a real plus for us. The immediate surroundings on the property were pleasant and restful. The staff was warm,friendly, and very helpful and accommodating. And the Starlite Motel was conveniently located, surrounded on all sides by rustic towns, numerous tourist attractions, and beautiful mountain views. I'm very happy to give this venue a " highly recommended " review !

Room Tip: All the rooms were extremely quiet and restful, day and night, even though the motel is set just a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 8722 Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.