We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guppys Tavern

Guppys Tavern
4663 East Lake Road, Bemus Point, NY 14712
716-386-4422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Bemus Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Description: Excellent menu with straightforward american fare. Would like to add more restaurants in Bemus Point.
Restaurant details
Description: Excellent menu with straightforward american fare. Would like to add more restaurants in Bemus Point.
SW new york
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We meet friends here for drinks and dinner for some place special to go. I recommend you try them. Sometimes there can be a wait in their small bar area while waiting for a table but worth it. Just don't be in a hurry...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food for everyone in the family...worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We are very fortunate that Guppy's is in our backyard. A few years ago I was pleasantly surprised when Christy and Doug took over ownership of this restaurant. It was never one of my favorites until Christy and Doug. The menu changed and it has something for everyone from pizza to their spectacular specials.
Of course with every good there is bad....their food is so good if you go between 6 and 8pm there is a wait. It is worth the wait but you have to anticipate this and plan accordingly. They have added a beautiful covered patio that can accomodate the overflow. Make sure you take a look at the outside bar, it's beautiful.
Guppy's has a nice selection of wines and beers! I highly recommend Guppy's during your stay at Chautauqua Lake. Best if you go during the week to avoid the crowds.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca, new york
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a menu - go early to beat crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We dined here Saturday night - choices were almost unlimited - full meal or sandwich or soup - mixed drinks, wine, beer. My daughter had the tomato basil soup followed by the portabello stuffed ravoli in white sauce and I tried a tossed salad and a spinach/cheese quasdilla. Everything was delicious - and their martini's offered a whole list to choose from. Meals with drinks under $45.00. Will definitely return and recommend to anyone who enjoys an informal tavern setting.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The food was ok, but the noise was SO loud, we couldn't have a conversation without yelling. Service was good. We went elsewhere for dessert.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gensac
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and lots of it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We visited here with 6 family members and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and the food superb. The atmosphere was friendly and lively without being too loud. Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guppys Tavern also viewed

Bemus Point, Chautauqua County
Bemus Point, Chautauqua County
 
Bemus Point, Chautauqua County
Bemus Point, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Guppys Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guppys Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.