We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Forge Inn

Iron Forge Inn
38 Iron Forge Road, Bellvale, NY 10990
845-986-3411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bellvale
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a very large (20 people) group dine at the Iron Forge on a Saturday night, and the experience was very pleasant. The setting is quite intimate, the staff attentive, and the food was outstanding! The Iron Forge even created a special keepsake menu for our group. I would certainly dine here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“relaxing night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our table was ready for us upon arrival & we where greeted with a smile. Cocktails to start were great. The restaurant has a lot of charm, great table. Our server was very good. The food presentation, good. We have been dining here for about 12yrs now, as well as the Tavern downstairs and most of the time it is not a disapointment.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Orange County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

If you can have one last meal let Eric Johannsen of Iron Forge prepare it for you. We have eaten in fine dining restaurants throughout the US and Europe and still can't wait for the next time we go to the Iron Forge. The ambience, service, and always the Food, the Food, and the food. Not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always good food in lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just off Rt 17A between Warwick and Greenwood Lake, NY, the Iron Forge Inn provides a lovely "Inn" setting with lovely upstairs main dining rooms and, in summer, outdoor patio, plus the downstairs Taproom with separate menu. (The seating in the Taproom can be uncomfortable depending on where you sit).
The food ranges from excellent to very good, but is reliably good and often excellent. The Flatiron steak (on the Taproom menu but served upstairs if you ask) is superb, the salmon excellent, the appetizers and deserts are worth the calories.
This is one of two or three places in the area where we take family, friends, or just ourselves for a good meal in a lovely setting --where you are greeted warmly by the owners and the service is excellent.. Open Thursdays to Sundays only; full bar.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Uneven, but sometimes great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

There is a downstairs "bar" which I like but my friends don't like - it has a cozy fireplace in the winter, and there is a special bar menu. I found the service in the bar to be confused, slow, and unhelpful, but that was in the busy summer season. Friends like the hamburger in the bar. The upstairs is beautiful, cozy, fireplace in the winter (try for that room). Sadly, I have had uneven meals in both the "bar" and the upstairs. The steamed clams appetizer was so tough that it was inedible. I have had the brook trout when it was wonderful and when it was terrible (dry, tasteless, stale). The portions are not big, except for the pasta. Sometimes, an item will be on the menu but not available - dissapointing. The soups have always been good so far, homemade, tasty. There is a very nice "garden" area up the hill behind the restaurant, available in the summer. The garden fills up quickly, and it is best to get there by opening time to get a seat there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Forge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Iron Forge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Forge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.