We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellport Restaurant

The Bellport Restaurant
159 S Country Rd, Bellport, NY 11713-2522
631- 286-7550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Bellport
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shirley, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Ate there during restaurant week. Snooty service, small portions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mastic, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“It never disappoints...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We go to The Bellport every now and then when we are looking for a good scratch cooked meal. The decor is very eclectic and the staff are always very nice and professional. My wife almost always gets the cornmeal fried oyster appetizer. It's always unlike anything we've ever had. Even if you don't like oysters, you will probably like this. This past visit, we did have the oysters, but I got the beet salad which was very good. The bison burger was nothing short of fantastic. I couldn't stop eating the frites. Unfortunately I never got to try my wife's pear filled ravioli. She finished them off before I could even get into them.

Desserts are made on premises. We split the white chocolate bread pudding. It was not too sweet, and not too overpowering. Just a nice way to end the meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“VERY FRIENDLY- VERY COZY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

You have to like this restaurant- the management and staff make you feel very welcome; the atmosphere is cozy - especially on the porch with the potbelly stove. the food i had was fine but needed more seasoning for the soup and the port chop was a little drier then i prefer. This could be a very good restaurant with just a 10% uptick in the food prep since the qualithy seemed fine. also since its just next to the bay, more seafood would be welcome- would love to see local clams,oysters- and flat fish .

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“A local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Bellport is a small unassuming village that wants to remain this way. A very small main street with few shops and 3 or 4 restaurants in total that the locals pack all year round but specially in summer. There are famous and prominent people living here either all year round or as a weekend getaway from New York City and nobody bothers them. In this elegant and quiet setting there is a restaurant that captures the magic and sophistication of Bellport and it is called very humbly "The Bellport". Their cuisine has undertones of French countryside with specialties like escargot (snails) or the butter chicken . It is a warm place with country-style decor very eclectic and very "arty" . Their food is understated and "homey" but you can see the effort and know-how of their Chef Taylor Alonso whom together with his wife, Patricia -a local "celebrity" in her own right- make The Bellport a must-visit place.
Highly recommended!
Don Travel

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Staff friendly food lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Lovely converted home in the quaint town of Bellport. the staff of one waitress was perky but slow. When we arrived it wasn't very busy. We ordered off a handwritten menu that was difficult to read.
The house chardonnay was mediocre the house red a Malbec was downright awful at $8 a glass too much.
The food seemed to be the dregs of the night. My sausage,peppers, and tomato with rigatoni had lots of sausage which was good very little pepper or tomato the rigatoni was tough and unevenly reheated. Our other orders were equally poor quality-the chicken meatballs were very bland, the spaghetti tough. the white balsalmic chicken was more a stew in a broth . Treat yourself and go down the street to the country club or eat at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bellport Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bellport Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellport Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.