We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedford Post Inn has a long way to go” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Post Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Post Inn to your Saves list
Bedford Post Inn
954 Old Post Road, Bedford, NY 10506   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bedford Post Inn has a long way to go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed on night at the Bedford Post Inn at $650 for the room. As we walked to the office we passed the reflecting (not swimming) pool that was filthy. I asked the receptionist about this and she said maintenance didn't get to it which they also didn't do by the next day even though they had a Christening and Bar Mitzvah there. The room was nice but not spectacular and the towels were small and worn out. There were no robes in the room and when we asked, we were told they are only on request, because people take them and remember there are only 8 rooms. They told us there was turn down service, however, when we came back to our room after our $250 dinner, the dirty towels were still in the room. The receptionist then brought us clean towels but also worn out. They bring a tray of pastries, coffee and juice. Instead of putting the coffee in a pot, it is brough in 2 cups and by the time you get it, it is cold. They did bring a pot when we requested it. Dinner was far from excellent. A waiter cleared some plates when one of our guests went to the rest room and spilled sauce on the chair. Our guest didn't see it and sat down and had wet pants for the rest of the evening. The hostess' response was "Sorry". The menu was very limited. The pasta appetizers at $16 were tiny as were the sides at $8. There were no vegetables or potatoes with your main course. When wine was ordered by the glass, they poured about 4oz instead of 6oz and when told about it, they said 'sorry'. Desserts were limited and not tasty at all. When we came back from dinner and found our room not cleaned we told the receptionist who told the manager that our meals were unsatisfactory and our room was not cleaned. The receptionist said someone would take care of this and talk to us, but there was a 20 something receptionist in the morning and another at night and no managers were ever seen. The receptionists were nice and did care, but they had no control. There are many much better places to spend your money.

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    8
    13
    10
See reviews for
9
65
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate here but didn't stay. There are 2 restaurants to choose from the Farmhouse being the better and more expensive of the 2. You don't need to be a guest to eat here.

We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed an amazing meal of local produce that was cooked at a station on the patio, adding to the atmosphere; as did the bonus visit from owner Richard Gere at the adjoining table.

Food is good value, wines are expensive if you want to drink well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Last week we discovered why the Bedford Post Inn is one of New York’s most accessible and delightful historical treasures.

An easy one hour drive from Manhattan, a couple of days at this beguiling retreat refreshed and revitalized as though we had taken a full week’s holiday.

Every single staff member made us feel special all the time, whilst reverently welcoming us as though we were close friends. Service was exemplary at every turn.

Our room conveyed romantic luxurious charm, enhanced by serenading birds at daybreak, the occasional patter of rain on panes and soft carefully crafted lighting of an evening. The touch of well-chosen fabrics or feel of luxurious toiletries reinforced the specialness.

The simple menus almost masked the excellence of the food that subsequently emerged from the kitchen. Lightness of touch (calamari, pasta), depth of flavor (salads), and a delightfully delicate approach to sauces and dressings yielded gastronomic pleasures in both the Barn and more formal Farmhouse.

It was nice to walk some of the guilty pleasures off in the woods behind the Inn.

This is a lovely place to visit for a special occasion, or with a special person.

It may not be cheap, but it is wonderful. We found it to be incredibly great value.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw looked terrific, but booking one with a balcony or terrace would be a bonus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here in March to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. As stated by others, the positives start from the warm welcome at Reception. Our room was on the ground floor next to the parlour behind reception - it was a beautiful room and mostly very quiet. The bed & linens were divine, the Frette bathrobes, the welcome cookies and the chocolates at turnover all excellent. I loved the Ren toilettries but they scrimp a bit here as they only have one set & didn't replace them during our stay. The free wine and nibbles in the small parlour was a bonus and gave us the opportunity to meet some others staying at the Inn.

After initially being disappointed to find the Farmhouse was going to be closed during our stay we really enjoyed our dinner in the Barn. The Inn recommended another restaurant for the second night but we had to cancel our reservation after an unseasonal snow storm - so we ate at The Barn both nights.

There was a slight mix up with our breakfast delivery on the first morning (arrived at 8.30 but booked for 8.00 am) but the second morning it arrived right on the dot. It was so lovely on a cold winter's morning to have breakfast sitting in our bath robes in our warm room.

The Inn really is stunning and the snow storm only added to its beauty.

Would love to come back one day but it's a long way from Melbourne!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This vacation was originally planned as a birthday gift for my husband in October 2012. However, Hurricane Sandy decided to visit the East Coast and I was on the phone with the staff of the Bedford Post Inn to change the date. Coming from Houston Texas and having experienced two hurricanes first hand I had no illusions what could happen if the storm hit. The staff could not have been nicer and allowed me to change the reservation to April 2013. We were so lucky, after our arrival we mentioned the reservation change and found out that after the storm it took two days for crews to clear the driveway of the hotel. Fortunately there were no storms for our April visit.

We had never traveled to Westchester County and were so amazed at how rural the area is so close to New York City. Spring had come so trees and bushes were blooming along with budding leaves. As lovely as the scenery was our first look at the Inn was a wonderful surprise. The grounds and building are meticulous, though the signs are a bit small that direct you to the reception area of the inn.

Small, personal, wellness, solitude - these are all words that describe our feelings for this wonderful B&B. Personal attention begins at check-in with a glass of sparkling rose, to be followed during happy hour in the parlor with wine and appetizers. The parlor also has the only refrigerator and is stocked with selected drinks and water for guests. The Inn is small with only 8 rooms, four on each floor. The tone of the rooms is a subdued elegance that helps you unwind from the trip in.

Beds that you can curl up in, huge marble shower with wall heads at either end, warming floors that were so nice on your feet in the morning and a claw footed tub that you really must bring bath salts to fully enjoy. With the wooden floors, the exposed barn beams and large wood doors the Inn feels like old colonial elegance.

Mornings brought breakfast to our room with pressed coffee, fresh orange juice and bakery from the Barn. The property has over 14 acres with a walking trail that loops around the back hill. A nice easy walk for thinking or talking. Afternoons the staff sets out wine and appetizers for guests. I must say we were very impressed with the wines. The second night we were there a large group checked in taking all available rooms. That night they had taken over the small parlor and the receptionist Lisa offered the private dining area for us to enjoy our wine. The private dining room which included another fireplace was more than sufficient. The staff was extremely accommodating to our needs.

We ate at the Barn our first night. Very enjoyable with unusual offerings. The gourmet hamburger was amazing with soft cheese and red pepper. The second night we had a craving for New York pizza and the staff was very helpful with suggestions.

It was interesting to learn that the Inn was in danger of falling down. Originally built in 1762 it's doors closed in 1997 when the Italian restaurant closed. The remodeled Inn is a beautiful get-a-way from the hectic pace of New York that won't take you half a day to reach.

My husband declared this was a wonderful "belated" birthday and we look forward to our next trip here - hopefully in the fall.

Room Tip: The signs to the reception area are very small, the bottom parking is for the restaurants. The Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I was excited to give this restaurant a try as I love trying restaurants in Westchester that I have not been too. Being in Manhattan all week it's the last thing I want on the weekend. This lovely place delivered everything I was looking for. The food was absolutely amazing. I was in a party of 7 and we were all raving on how delicious our dishes were. I make my pancakes from scratch so it's the last thing I ever order anywhere as no restaurant can match my own. Alas, I have been beaten! BPI makes the most amazing pancakes EVER. The 2 small children in our group order them (and at them all up) first and they were so good we added 2 more for the adults!
The atmosphere is friendly and warm, and it is a family friendly restaurant which just adds to the charm. On top of all this the staff was so classy as to cut our birthday cake without the ridiculous "cake cutting fee" that a lot of pathetic restaurants impose. Thank you to the staff! We will definitely be back, and often too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am very fussy when it comes to hotels. The Bedford Post Inn went above and beyond my expectations. It was the perfect place to celebrate our ten year anniversary. Lisa, who greeted us with 2 glasses of champagne, was so warm and friendly. Their attention to detail was exceptional. It was worth every penny! The Farmhouse restaurant was amazing. We are going to make this our annual anniversary tradition. Can't wait to go back. Thank you for making our stay most memorable!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level will be more quite. We stayed in room 4 and could hear the kitchen below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Post Inn

Address: 954 Old Post Road, Bedford, NY 10506
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bedford Post, set in the heart of Westchester, at 954 Old Post Road in Bedford, NY. Bedford Post is home to an eight-room luxury inn, a yoga studio, and two distinct restaurants: The Barn, for casual dining, and The Farmhouse, our more formal dining room. Reservations are gladly taken up to one month in advance at the Farmhouse, and two months in advance at the Barn. Join us for daily classes, workshops and events at The Yoga Loft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Bedford Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Post Hotel Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Post Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.