We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Cafe

Bear Cafe
The Bearsville Theatre Complex, Route 212, Bearsville, NY 12498
845-679-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bearsville
Price range: $0 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Woodstock, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bear Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Bear Cafe has consistently served excellent food for over 20 years. It is a homey, pretty restaurant , in a lovely setting that has outdoor seating in the nice weather, next to a stream. The service as well is terrific. You need to reserve in advance because it is one of the most popular eating places in Woodstock. Recommended: rack of lamb and the great hamburger, and the lobster quesadilla!! Desserts yummy too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    51
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Bear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Consistently excellent. Perfect Woodstock ambience .Try to sit overlooking the stream or in the back room with fireplace on a chilly evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Meh, at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I went back and forth on whether to give Bear Cafe two stars or three. Our party of three was in Woodstock on business and it was very obvious from the get-go that since we were clearly not locals, we weren't very important to management or serving staff. Food was ordinary, except for the corn chowder, which was killer. Very slow, disinterested service. The only alternative explanation for our experience is that the place is slipping. I will definitely go elsewhere if I am back in the Woodstock area any time soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We've consistently visted Bear Cafe for a few years - we're always hoping for a better experience - and we never get it. The prices are quite expensive for the area and the food is at best mediocre. Its a sort of 'landmark' place in Woodstock/Bearsville and has some good history, which is perhaps why its still always very busy. Even with reservations, we've had to wait for well over a 1/2 an hour and the host(ess) isn't usually very concerned about it. The waitstaff is usually nice enough, but not necessarily 'good' at their jobs (slower service, forgotten items, etc.)

The bar is great, however - good views and good drinks. I'd stop by for an afternoon cocktail or local beer if you're in town and then move elsewhere for eats. (Also, they don't have bacon for brunch, and that's just weird.)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“frugal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Everything has been stripped back even down to sharing tea spoons! No need to be so measly,,I will take my custom else where.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Cafe also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.