We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Rude Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Cafe

Bear Cafe
The Bearsville Theatre Complex, Route 212, Bearsville, NY 12498
845-679-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bearsville
Price range: $0 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly Rude Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A friend of mine and I tried to stop in here for brunch on a Saturday. Much to my own fault I read their website wrong and they unfortunately are only open for brunch on Sundays. However, I will never go back to The Bear because of how rude the woman manager there was to me. Rather than just saying "I'm sorry, we're not open for lunch today." She insisted on scolding me by saying "that's why it's generally a good idea to call ahead" in the most condescending and rude tone I've ever been spoken to as a customer. I didn't realize that walking through their doors was such an inconvenience but I assure you I will never do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    51
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Bear Cafe has a warm and comfortable ambiance overlooking a stream. We made reservations but they could not guarantee a table by the window - it is a first come first serve reservation for those tables. We were fortunate to arrive for an early dinner and be seated by the window and that added to the experience. The food was well prepared and delicious and the service was excellent. We definitely would return when visiting the Woodstock area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in the Big Apple
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Romantic, Cozy, Warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were very pleased with our BnB's referral to the Bear Cafe. Very pleasing interior, attentive waiter, delicious, attractively presented food. I had the red snapper and hubby had the sirloin. Neither of us could finish the portions. We also started with the quesadilla which would have been better shared by 4 than 2. Their bread was out of this world! Fabulous.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food. Stays open late.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

One of the very few good restaurants in the area that stay open late and also do take-out. Very delicious food, good wine, but don't forget to make a reservation otherwise there will be a lengthy wait to be seated. For take out call well in advance.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent combination of ambiance, interesting menu, and location overlooking water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been here several times and never have been let down. The location is just a couple of miles outside of the main village, on the main road but the setting is wooded and right on the creek. Request a table by the window if you'll be eating during daylight hours because the restaurant is situated right over the water...lovely. Even the bar overlooks the water, so this is a great place if you are just looking for a drink and perhaps something light at the bar. The waiting area is even quaint and overlooks the water. I'm not sure about outdoor dining or delivery... you'd have to call. The lighting is perfect...cozy and romantic. Not a place to bring the kids unless they can hang in a more grown up atmosphere and chill out. The interior is lots of wood...great fireplace. The food is contemporary without trying too hard. Everything they do, they do well. The pumpkin ravioli was excellent, as was the french onion soup, grilled bean curd salad, and huge steak sandwich. I've never seen so many fries on one plate, actually. The service was attentive...normal staff with no attitudes. The cost was about $90 for 3. I've been here at lunch time, too and had an excellent brunch type entree as well. Just a wonderful place for so many reasons!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Cafe also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.