We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge to your Saves list
Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   55 Hessian Drive, Bear Mountain, NY 10911   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Writing this as we sit by the fire place of the overlook lodge.
This has been one of our most pleasant experiences ever. The people at the front desk are very professional and wonderful, Jennifer accommodated all our requests so gracefully and upgraded us to a room with a breathtaking view of the frozen lake! William (who does the night shift) is also a very friendly guy, he made a fire for us in the beautiful stone fireplace and attended to it at regular intervals, both days we were there.
The rooms are very well maintained and clean with gorgeous views. Make sure to ask for the rooms that overlook the lake as half of them face the other side.

Everything else is just BEAUTIFUL!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Your review is like music to our ears! We are overjoyed that you found the peace and beauty that you were looking for at Bear Mountain...even under all that snow.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    29
    9
    13
See reviews for
26
61
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thorofare, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Came in from the cold and snow recently for our third winter weekend stay. Overlook Lodge offers clean, comfortable, well-appointed rooms with stunning views worth coming back for. My wife and I especially appreciated the hospitality offered by personable, helpful Front Desk host William who answered questions, faithfully attended to our needs and, most importantly, kept the lobby fire stoked for peace-filled comfort by the fireplace. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

First time staying there on recommendation of a friend. Loved the atmosphere. Continental breakfast was a bit skimpy and the frig did not work in our room, but staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms on our side had big picture windows that looked onto Lake Hessian and it was a winter wonderland view.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell junction
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff did not do what they said they would . The lodge had cob webs in the the hallways. The left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing . Very disappointing for my daughters wedding. The food was not up to standards:(

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, and please accept our most sincere apologies that we disappointed you and your family. Your experience is absolutely not to the standards which we hold ourselves, and I encourage you to contact me directly at your convenience so we can discuss this in more detail.

All the Best!
Liz
morrisl@guestservices.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus,OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My room was fairly standard. The bathroom was on the small size but nicely done. I particularly liked the down stair public space decorated with rustic furniture. There is a great porch overlooking the grounds toward the Hudson River. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here on our way from nyc to The Adirondack mountains. As a taster for the scenery that you can find further north, it is a remarkably convenient quick trip out of Manhattan....just an hour North. The Bear mountain inn was a bit scruffy, but served solidly reliable and sturdy food in an unpretentious setting. This was a twenty minute walk from the hotel though. The Hotel itself had large, comfortable rooms and was very quiet. The bathroom had a tiny bathtub, but otherwise the room was fine. Breakfast was a bit barren....cereal, muffin and plastic crockery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived at the first Oktoberfest Sunday and where surprised from all the people there. The hotel is very nice and made of chestnut. Everything is at the Bear Mountain Inn looked like you think a lodge should be. The staff was very friendly. We had a very nice big room with a lake view. Everything was beautifully renovated. The restaurant was delicious but a bit pricy. If you like hiking you are at right place and the lake is beautiful. If you like shopping like we, you will be at the outlets in 20 minutes.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and the many amenities available in and around Bear Mountain. Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts! We hope your travels bring you back to the Hudson Valley and a trip to Bear Mountain.

All the Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge

Address: 55 Hessian Drive, Bear Mountain, NY 10911
Location: United States > New York > Bear Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bear Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge features 24 guestrooms with either a commanding view of the Hudson River or the forests of Bear Mountain. Our newly enhanced guest rooms are a great reason to rediscover Bear Mountain featuring a luxurious, distinctly rustic feel to match the lodge's spectacular location and views. The Hudson Ballroom offers breathtaking views of both the Hudson River and Hessian Lake for your meeting or celebrations, up to 180 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Groupon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Inn`s Overlook Hotel Bear Mountain
Overlook Hotel Bear Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.