We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at it's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain State Park

Bear Mountain State Park
Bear Mountain, NY
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Pearl River, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nature at it's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Come with a picnic basket, a blanket, a frisbee or a ball and you're SET. There's a beautiful carousel, a playground, boats to take out onto the lake (paddle or canoes) and a ZOO! Not to mention the AMAZING Tapas bar for after your day of fun....come and enjoy!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    86
    30
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our short time here was idyllic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Bear Mountain State Park is a wonderful place! It’s hard to believe it’s just 40 miles from Manhattan because it’s wilderness.

We haven’t seen such an inn since the National Park great lodges out West. We had a special morning first walking to the carousel with its variety of animals including a fox, otters, a lynx, three bears, frogs, mountain lion, deer, and the occasional horse. Since we were there early and no one else was about, we took a ride. The attendants didn't blink an eye at two adults enjoying the merry go round.

Next we explored the Main Inn. The gift shop was closed. The public spaces are vast and nice.

Finally we moved on to the zoo. The animals were mostly rescues: some were orphans, some were injured by gunshot or autos. They were quite active and had very healthy coats. There was no "pacing" that you often see with animals in captivity. The three-legged fox was especially touching. It was difficult for him to climb rocks. We're glad the animals were rescued and not left to die in the wild.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Hiking and Camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

So many cool places to hike and camp! Excellently blazed trails, gorgeous views, and very little in the way of littering (always a concern these days).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I come here very often just to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Its so serene and refreshing. Just driving through is an absolute treat. Kayaking is wonderful here and there is plenty of hiking available on the dozens of trails. Can't wait to be up there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormville
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went there with my brother and his wife. We found it a most beautiful place to visit. The views were fantastic. The lodge beautiful and the park itself well maimtained.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Mountain State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bear Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.