We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pine Island Grill

The Pine Island Grill
333 Bayville Ave, Bayville, NY 11709-1622
516-628-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 17 Restaurants in Bayville
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I dined at the restaurant on Friday evening, August 23. The sunset was spectacular and the ambiance magical. The lobster sliders were excellent; enough lobster and little filler. The Little Neck clams were fresh, however, a request for lemon was not met until long after the clams arrived. The burrata appetizer was excellent, served room temperature, as requested. While we asked that not all our food be brought out at once, this was ignored and our server apologized but said that there was little that he could do. We requested a specific table and was told it had been reserved. It sat empty throughout our dinner and, then, several people who were sitting elsewhere, moved there. We expressed our dissatisfaction to Joe, the Manager, who was attentive and gracious. He thanked us for apprising him of our issues and as a much appreciated gesture, took us up to the outdoor deck where he brought us a round of drinks.

The restaurant is quite beautiful and right on the water, making it a special place to dine. Hopefully, Joe, who has not been on board for very long, will shape up the staff as the place has incredible potential.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seaford
1 review
“Bad service - poor food-great view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had been to this restaurant when it was the Pine Island Grill. It was very good then. This time around the hostess left us standing on the deck for 15 minutes while they looked for someone to set our table. In the meantime other parties were seated (we had a reservation and we were on time). Our waitress to took forever to come to our table, waited 15 minutes for our drinks. The waitress said the bar tender was backed up. When the drinks came the waitress told my wife they were out of the wine she ordered. and those were the highlights.
Management needs to retrain the staff and retrain the staff. The icing on the cake was the fact a wedding was taking place on the lower deck outside with the DJ blaring thru the entire restaurant. Even our horrible waitress admitted it was too loud. She said this is the first time they did this. I will never go their again. The view is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The new ocean restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The new menu at the ocean in bayville long island was a plesant surprise. I had a skirt steak that was very flavorfull. My crabcake appitizer was a work of art as well as full of crab and quite flavorfull. My lunch dates ceasar salad had too much ancohvie flavor to it but was not bad. Prices are reasonable for the type of place it . Give the ocean a try as the food was better than when it was called the pine island grill

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dined at Pine Island Grill at the Crescent Beach Club. Stopped by, unplanned on a Friday night at 8:30pm, valet told us that the kitchen closed at 9:00pm. We weren't rushed or made to feel that they wanted to close up. The food presentation was eye appealing and everything was quite good. We had salads, Mussels Fra Diavolo -sauce was great!- and Poached salmon. The dessert was a molten chocolate lava cake with ice cream on top that was decadent. Great experience. Only downside, waiter disappeared a few times, and was very jumpy(drugs!). We didn't drink because we were driving too far.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
2 reviews
“Crap Food and Service Awesome View”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The view is close to unbeatable on the top deck. But for $16 for an Absolut Martini that took forever to get to the table, they can keep it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pine Island Grill also viewed

 
Bayville, Long Island
 

Been to The Pine Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pine Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.