We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, unassuming, really good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong East

Mekong East
43-13 Bell Blvd., Bayside, NY 11361
718 357-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 124 restaurants in Bayside
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Floral Park, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Small, unassuming, really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went with a vegetarian duo. Sometimes hard to find something good & acceptable for them to eat. No problem here. We had: fried rice with tofu [steamed] with fried egg, bok choi woked with plenty of garlic, a mixed vegetable sandwich [on french bread-they're Vietnamese] came with hot peppers [very] so be prepared and grilled chicken over rice vermicelli with bean sprouts, lettuce, peanuts and a nice sweet sauce [to make it seems like a salad said waitperson]. With an Export 33 beer a very satisfying evening. Inexpensive, unpretentious, plain wooden benches against wall and simple chairs. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As a single female traveller, I felt very comfortable and confident sitting down, ordering in record time, food delivered in record time, delicious meal, reasonable price, friendly staff. Wish I'd eaten every meal here in hindsight and not wasted my time elsewhere in the neighbourhood.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Fabulous Vietnamese food in Bayside, Queens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Mekong East has been part of the Bell Blvd. Restaurant row for the past year. I have been there numerous time. Each time the food is delicious. My favorites are:
.Appetizers: chicken on skewers, the spring rolls (all flavors), grilled calamari & fried calamari
.Entrees: pan fried noodles with assorted seafood, pad Thai, talapia with ginger, and red snapper.

Everyone loves the food. The owners are very attentive to customers. The restaurant is fairly quiet and enjoyable. (I don't like noisy restaurants). There is easy on the street parking in the evening. The wine list is very good and reasonable.

I highly recommend Mekong East.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good addition to the Bell Blvd dining scene.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

You can expect good, satisfying Vietnamese food. Everything is well prepared. There's a decent selection of soup, noodle, meat and seafood dishes. However, the menu could be expanded.

Nothing remarkable about Mekong East but the ambience and service is pleasant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Vietnamese Hidden Treasure in Bayside, Queens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The restaurant opened last Spring. It's menu and service are great. I have been there with family several times. I brought friends this time. It has a quiet ambiance. Food is tyical Vietnamese. We had calamari, spring rolls, and shrimp rolls for appetizer. For entrees the Pad Thai is delicious, Pan Fried Noodles with seafood outstanding, and Talapia with ginger sauce scrumptious. We also shared desserts: Asian flavored ice cream and flan. Vietnamese food is a little spicy and very tasty. They individualize the cooking and will minimize spices upon request. They now serve alcohol.

The restaurant is near the corner of Bell and Northern Blvds. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong East also viewed

 

Been to Mekong East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.