We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summertime outdoor find with live music and Water view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Malone's Restaurant

Molly Malone's Restaurant
124 Maple Ave, Bay Shore, NY 11706-8737
(631) 969-2232
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Molly Malone's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 129 Restaurants in Bay Shore
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Deer park
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great summertime outdoor find with live music and Water view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful friendly staff and delicious cocktails with good menu and awesome live music... Arrive early for a seat outside in the summer... Order the coconut shrimp it's the best I've had

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food on the water in a casual environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had a delightful lunch looking at the boats going out side on the covered patio. Very casual outside though, not upscale if that is what you are looking for.The service was outstanding and the food every bit as good. We all shared potato skins and they were great. Some of us had a Reuben, made just the way it should have been. I am not much of a drinker and like things sweet and just loved the toasted coconut martini. Delicious. A lovely lunch. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We felt mislead...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went early on a saturday night based on a friends recommendation. I called at the last minute to see if I can get a reservation. Success.....but I was told reservations are for inside only and outside was first come first serve and there was no wait outside now. ok so we head out and when we get there, 30 minutes later - there is an hour wait for outside...interesting because we were seated next to a couple who had the same experience except they were only 10 minutes away...sounds like someone didn't give out the right information. Is this the way they always operate - get you there and then your captive...idk. its was their first time at Molly Malones as well.

Now our waiter didn't come over to us for atleast 30 minutes...he didn't know he had our table. really? only waiter in the section.... and the hostess said that he does...idk ...food was just ok...asked for sauce on the side - came on the chicken...

After several complaints to the hostess, the owner came over to appoligize and said that the waiter was new....saturday night in the summer..so unprepared...our drinks took forever as well - which was supposedly the bar's fault...Inside restaurant was NOT full. A very large section was given to a new waiter- if that was the truth... would NOT go back. My party felt mislead and patronized.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Had Fun at Outside Bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We went to Molly Malone's with a bunch of friends to enjoy the music at the outside bar. The band was excellent, people were dancing, and the bar tender was quick with the drinks and made you feel welcomed.
I personally don't know how the food is since I limited my night to beverages.
I would definitely go again - and next time sample the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice place inside, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Our dinners were very good. The food was tastey, the portions were nice size and the service was welcoming. The manhattan clam chowderw as the best I have ever had and was filled with chopped clams. They also serve Irish soda bread at the table and it was very very good. The steak sandwhiches were juicy and cooked perfect. The chicken spicy pasta was fantastic. As for the view, it can't be beat. And the inside is brand new, completely renovated. We bumped into one of the owners while we were there, Pete Higgins, what a nice guy!

Definitely will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Malone's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Molly Malone's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Malone's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.