We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for the specials, will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swept Away

Swept Away
25 Bay View Ave, Bay Shore, NY (Formerly Cool Water Grill)
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 129 Restaurants in Bay Shore
Restaurant details
NY
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Went for the specials, will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went for the burger night specials and will with out a doubt go back.

We started with two of the salads. The Wedge Salad and the Cool Water Salad. Both were very good. We both then had the crab cake burger with fries. Again we were not disappointed. The crab was tasty and not overly bready.

Add to the good food a staff that was attentive and pleasant and this was a very good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum with some sun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Went for lunch on a Sunday afternoon had the portebello mushroom with Spinach and mozzarella cheese! Yummy. Also tried the baked clams and they were good, maybe not as good as my sandwich. It offers a small amount of outside seating and I was able to bask in the sun, while my friend was covered by the umbrella. Wait staff was very attentive which was not easy to do since the Bay Shore Festival was up on main street and the place was packed. Highly recommend and we will be returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Very Happy Valentines Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We'd been coming to this place with family when it was originally Cool Water Grill. It reopened last summer after total devastation after Hurricane Sandy in 2012. It's back as good as ever with all new interior, new menu and live music every Friday night. We came here for Valentines Dinner on 2/14/14. As with many restaurants they had a special limited holiday menu which was quite good. Place was packed so glad we made reservations. We ordered Surf and Turf (twin lobster tails for only $28 ) Quite a bargain in this economy. Appetizers and starters were quit large as well. Special deserts of chocolate covered strawberries and red velvet cheesecake were delicious. Ladies were also treated to complimentary champagne and a long stem red rose to go home with. The staff is always friendly, and substitutions to the menu are accepted as well. Worth a trip from anywhere for something different and like I said enjoy the live music on Fridays. Check web site for daily special as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
2 reviews
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

After enjoying many visits to Cool Water, we were primed for a nice meal. Sadly that wasn't the case. My twin pork chops were thin, dry, and totally overcooked. This was after specifically telling our server that unlike most people I'm not squeamish about pork cooked with a bit of pink inside. I literally couldn't chew the stuff. The hostess offered me another entree. I asked for something that could be prepared quickly so as not to have my wife wait too long to eat her dinner (a creamy pasta dish that I would describe as Pasta a la Salt). The waiter recommended fried shrimp. It came quickly, most likely because the shrimp beneath the breading were raw. Also the fries were soggy. Not likely to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Monday night stop for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Mondays at Swept Away is terrific. Not many places open on Monday but this was terrific with friends celebrating the completion of a long project.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swept Away also viewed

 

Been to Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swept Away, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.