We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arm pit of a hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shore Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Shore Inn to your Saves list
Bay Shore Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bay Shore Road, Bay Shore, NY 11706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bay Shore
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“arm pit of a hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Only go there if you like plenty of space. Only three other guest there. Worst hotel ever and I travel for business every week. Their match books say beautifully decorated rooms which must be a slogan from the 1950's. Dresser was missing draw knobs, table warped, mattress cover in plastic with duct tape to fix the holes. Hotel employees sit behind bullet proof glass which makes you feel real safe. Do you want a cup of coffee, well it will cost you fifty cents from the machine. When I arrived the desk clerk was sleeping behind the glass and I had to wake her up. When you get to your room you will notice that they do not have clocks in the room and you can not get one. Find another hotel and run as fast as you can.

Room Tip: no elevator so avoid second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    1
    12
See reviews for
1
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent about an hour (not even one night) in our room and couldn't stand it any longer, so we left and made reservations at another place in the aria. The shower stall floor needed more elbow grease and the windows were dirty. The air conditioner was not helping at all to reduce the odor - the lighting and color of the room were a dingy combination. This place needs a lot more than wifi.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bay Shore hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

To start off is too expensive for what u get, stinky room, old crapy phone, Blankets with cigarettes burn holes, a 1980 TV, filthy carpet, Broken mirrors on the wall, no outlets to plug anything, 1 small cheap bar soap, and to top it off the wifi was out of service. They have a huge sign in front of the building that says "Newly renovated rooms and Free wifi" Are this people are serious? All they trying to do is to rip people off, don't advise what you don't offer to your guests, the worst place in town, don't wais your money is more comfortable to sleep in your car after a long trip than there. I don't recommended to anyone especially if you have kids, all you see is prostitutes and druggies all over the building. Is a 0 star trashy motel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Asked for a none smoking room, got one butting up to a smoking room where the draft draws smoke from next door. Opened the window to get some fresh air and was surprised to find the window sill was used as an ash tray and stuffed with butts, ashes, and matches. Ready to jump into bed to catch up on sleep after a drive across country, and find cigarrette burns on every layer of bedding. If I wasn't so tired I would have complained but realized I wouldn't get too far with the cigarrette smoking front desk lady, so I used my own pillows and sleeping bag.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, pay the extra 20 or 30 for a room somewhere nicer, can't get any worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Unvacuumed floors, everything has a dingey look and feel. However linens & towels were changes daily. Bathroom cleaned daily also.
Several repairs were needed ... Cracked mirror, furniture is gross old and dirty and unstable. Towel rack broke and a syringe slipped out of the hollow part. THE SHARP WAS STILL ATTACHED!! Staff was very polite. Sketchy "guests" staying in rooms surrounding mine. This place has a "covert operation" feel. Creepy. It was free because I spent the entire week complaining... Also, the syringe incident

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Dog got sick, so needed something last minute quick quick close to the animal hospital. $90 got me a room, but it wasn't worth more than $20. Was simply awful. Hookers, and smokers and yellers - and that was just the lobby view.

Simply awful.
Sheets thin. Pillows and blanket just gross.
The landscaping between the street and the hotel property would have been cleaner.

Truth be told, it's a hooker or "love" motel.
It's not for thoughtful, clean people looking for a descent night's sleep.

Room Tip: there is no good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

pretty good place for the money. Had a couple issues with this place. The showers fluxuate from hot to cold to hot in a matter of seconds,and when i say hot im talking scolding hot. The other think was the maid took a mattress pad that we had for medical reasons. We told the front desk and it was found by the next morning. The staff was very friendly. Convienent place for us. We were there 3 nights cuz we were visiting my brother in law. I felt safe in my room. Not sure what these other reviews are all about. I priced alot of motels in the area and this was the cheapest. So for the price it was ok. No problems

Room Tip: you pay for what you get. pretty good for the price in bayshore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shore Inn

Address: 300 Bay Shore Road, Bay Shore, NY 11706
Location: United States > New York > Bay Shore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bay Shore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bay Shore Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms; near Fire Island and South Shore beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Shore Hotel Bay Shore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.