We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8250 Park Road, Batavia, NY 14020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Batavia
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2005

I came here for funeral for my sister for one night and ended up stayng for two. I found the people here to be very friendly and very helpful. They offerd to help in any way possible. This hotel has all the comforts of home and my room looked as if it had just recently been renovated, and kept very clean. When I come back here to visit my family for Christmas,I will definatly stay here again. I have stayed at some other hotels in the area and they they don't even come close to the comforts offerd at this one.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    42
    36
    30
See reviews for
117
15
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

Hi,

We had the most unfortunate time of our life and that was staying at this so-called Holiday Inn, Batavia. First of all, calling this a Holiday Inn is itself a disgrace to Holiday Inn's name and reputation. There is no welcoming attitude at all. All the staff we found were either rude or strssed out. The management was terrible and lacked any kind of hospitality essence. Except for the size their operation was similar to a roadside slizzy motel. To pay 89 bucks a night is a simple rip off. How can they even pass the strict inspection of Holiday Inn is beyond me. The Holiday Inn should either check on its inspectors or somebody should go there and give a surprise visit. The rooms were rotten. It is an unhealthy atmosphere in the room. Bathrooms were so old that I would not even consider using it if I had another option.

So, please avoid this hotel and spread the word around that there are far better hotels within 20-30 miles of driving time.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batavia hotels

Syracuse, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

I booked this online after I [SOMEhow] concluded that this was the "best" place in the area (we wanted to spend the night after the DMB concert at Darien Lake)... I would HATE to see the "worst" place in Batavia. This Holiday Inn is pretty dumpy--even for the $89/night. The lobby is deceiving because it's decent looking, but the rest of the hotel is just plain worn and dingy. The restaurant is pathetic and I couldn't help feeling sorry for the people stuck working in this place--they were nice (including the girls at the front desk) and they''re the only reason I gave this 2 marks. Anyway, we're staying at the Holiday Inn Lake Placid in a few weeks at $300+/night (!!!) and I can only pray it'll be the opposite of this place!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2004

Having grown up in Batavia this is where I used to stay when I came back in town for a visit. I have stayed there more than a dozen times over the years but each time it was a little more ragged. The last time I was there it was only beacuse I couldn't find anything else available. The place is just plain worn out and since Holiday Inn bought it I don't believe a single penny has been spent on fixing it up. I suggest the Hampton Inn just north of the Thruway if you want a nice quite and clean room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2004

We stayed at the Batavia Hampton Inn in August. It is a disgrace to the Hampton Inn name. Outside appearance is good but once you get to the door, it changes dramatically. Non-working elevator, skid-row filthy entrance, mildewed shower tile, bathroom door too warped to close, draperies hanging loose from the rods, dirty carpet, lobby almost devoid of furniture. And they have a 48 hour cancellation policy which makes it impossible to cancel once you've seen the horrible conditions inside. Why Hampton Inn hasn't closed this place down is beyond me. Sleep in your car if you have to, but avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2004

Stayed there July 19, 2004. One night was one too many. Holiday Inn has always held an expectation of quality, service, & cleanliness. I guess this is the exception to that theory. No lobby elevators operated. Entry was through a rear door. That entrance was dirty. The area outside of the door was littered with old carpet that had been tossed onto the ground. There was no assistance available to help with the bags. The working elevator frequently carried you to a floor other than the one selected. The toilet seat was dangerously loose. (not broken, just loose) The front desk was notified. Nobody could find the time to tighten two scews. At our evening meal, we encountered a most indifferent hostess. At 6:00 P.M., breakfast food droppings remained, on the floor, at the base of the table, next to ours. This place will keep us out of all Holiday Inns.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2004

Main elevators out of order. Had to unload in the rain in rear parking lot far from room. No service to help with luggage, etc. Outside pool out of order. Room door locked us out twice because privacy lock did not release. No house phone so had to walk to lobby to get attendant. Room was not clean...especially the carpet. Rod to pull curtain open was broken off one curtain. Staff was accomodating but certainly not friendly. No plans to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark

Address: 8250 Park Road, Batavia, NY 14020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Batavia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Batavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the BRAND NEW Palm Island Indoor Waterpark!!! Whether traveling for business, leisure or planning a meeting or banquet, the Clarion Hotel Batavia in the Darien Lake area will make your stay a memorable experience by providing excellent service, impeccable rooms, and fantastic dining options. 195 spacious guest rooms including 48 executive suites will provide all of the amenities expected by modern travelers. All of the rooms are oversized with refrigerators and microwaves, the executive suites include a separate sitting area with a dry bar, desk, speaker phone and two TVs. The entire hotel is equipped with free high speed wireless internet access. This hotel has over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Conveniently located on Park Road at exit 48 off I-90, situated approximately 25 miles from both Buffalo and Rochester, New York. This beautiful Batavia hotel is located less than 45 miles from Niagara Falls/Seneca Casino. Short walk to the Batavia Downs Casino, Race Track and Video Gaming and located only 10 miles from Darien Lake Amusement Park. Also nearby are Letchworth State Park, Terry Hills Golf Course, NYS School of the Blind, Genesee Community College, Iroquois National Wildlife Refuge, Dwyer Stadium (Home of the Muckdogs), Jello Museum, Snow Tubing, Antiques and much more. With free parking and accessibility for trucks, buses, and RVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batavia
Batavia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.