We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately Needs Updating! Has Potential” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8250 Park Road, Batavia, NY 14020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Batavia
Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Desperately Needs Updating! Has Potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel has great potential, but it is in serious need of updating. The Palm Island Waterpark is great and the perfect size for families with young children. The hotel on the other hand is one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. I was afraid to let my children touch anything, it felt so dirty. The carpets are filthy, the bedding is dated, and the room as a whole was in disrepair.

The only reason this hotel is surviving is because of the water park. There are so few water park hotels in the area, that people tolerate the rundown hotel so that they can take their kids to a water park. It's about time Clarion hotel invests some money in this place and brings the room conditions to a more appropriate standard. This place has great potential but until they start renovating, I'll be crossing the border and staying at the water park hotels in Niagara Falls, Canada.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are constantly updating to meet our guests' need. We recently upgraded all our windows, carpets and newer flat screen TVs. We have much more planned this year. Thank you for seeing the potential in us. We are working hard to turn that into reality. I hope your next visit will be pleasant. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the waterpark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    58
    50
    38
    33
See reviews for
131
19
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a room with bed bugs. The hotel was also very budget and their rooms were freezing. Only good thing about it is the front desk lady who was very nice and apologetic and changed our room for us without any delay or fuss.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We have not had any bed bug problems in our hotel. I respectfully disagree with your review about some of the rooms having bed bugs. The review is questionable.I have investigated with our staff and no such report submitted stating there was a bed bug problem in any of the rooms. We take this very seriously, and will not tolerate any review to tarnish our reputation. We will be investigating further to verify the legitimacy of this review. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batavia hotels

Byron, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Though this isn't the biggest indoor water park i have been to, the value is great and very young kid friendly. I have heard it will be expanding soon and will be even better for older kids and adults, although all ages seemed to be having fun. The price is great, the staff is great, the hotel is great,the place is clean and even the snack shop and water park store is very affordable. I had to get my granddaughter a bathing suit because hers didn't fit and i bought it right there for $15! Life vests are on loan for free and all the towels you want can be grabbed at will. I recommend you give this water park a try. They even have day passes for locals who just want to have some water fun in the winter....also very affordable by the way. Thank you Tom and the rest of Palm Island staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We felt our patronage was extremely valued. We chose to stay here for two nights as a fun family adventure to spend some quality time together to end the winter break from school. Every interaction with the staff was friendly and professional. They made sure we were accomidated for every need. The waterpark was lots of fun. The staff there were wonderful. The waterpark is very clean. The lifeguards were extremely attentive and kind. The room was nicer than we anticipated. We ate three times from the hotel resturant. The food was great. Selection of optionas available were plentiful. Over all, we were extremely happy and do plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a great time with the New Year's package. The kids had lots of fun at the scheduled events and in the waterpark the next day, too. The staff really went out of their way to make it a great evening. However - we had a room that 'connected' on both sides. On one side we had a baby and the other 2 LOUD couples. We could have taken part in their conversations through the connecting doors. They need better soundproofing! It wasn't fun getting woken up at 1:30 to loud rude conversations - we slapped the doors and finally called security, who came down quickly and tried to get them to quiet down, but it shouldn't need to be that loud. They seemed to pass out at about 2:45. Being woken up by a crying baby through the other wall at 6:45 am wasn't a treat either. Better soundproofing between rooms would have left us very happy, but as it was, I wouldn't go back ever. We may as well have been trying to sleep in the hall.

Room Tip: DO NOT get a connecting room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

we had a great package new years eve! the kids had a blast staff nice and accommodating for special requests (portable crib) and wonderful food. the party consisted of dancing scavenger hunt and prizes. very kid friendly.

Room Tip: express all your needs and they will help you from the start to pick the best. some rooms have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank for you review and also spending New Years Eve Family Fun Night. We host several family friendly event through out the year. Our next event is March Madness. Please check our website for more information. There will be lot more activities for the kids. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This year we attended the New Years Eve party at the Clarion with our grandchildren, ages 11 and 4. The hotel had all kinds of activities planned and very well orginized. Scavenger hunt, balloon drop (10:30PM) DJ, chinese auction, dinner buffet, noise makers etc. And the water park was great for kids of this age. In the summer there is an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your New years Eve celebration. We are very happy with the success of the party and very pleased to see reviews such as yours. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark

Address: 8250 Park Road, Batavia, NY 14020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Batavia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Batavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the BRAND NEW Palm Island Indoor Waterpark!!! Whether traveling for business, leisure or planning a meeting or banquet, the Clarion Hotel Batavia in the Darien Lake area will make your stay a memorable experience by providing excellent service, impeccable rooms, and fantastic dining options. 195 spacious guest rooms including 48 executive suites will provide all of the amenities expected by modern travelers. All of the rooms are oversized with refrigerators and microwaves, the executive suites include a separate sitting area with a dry bar, desk, speaker phone and two TVs. The entire hotel is equipped with free high speed wireless internet access. This hotel has over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Conveniently located on Park Road at exit 48 off I-90, situated approximately 25 miles from both Buffalo and Rochester, New York. This beautiful Batavia hotel is located less than 45 miles from Niagara Falls/Seneca Casino. Short walk to the Batavia Downs Casino, Race Track and Video Gaming and located only 10 miles from Darien Lake Amusement Park. Also nearby are Letchworth State Park, Terry Hills Golf Course, NYS School of the Blind, Genesee Community College, Iroquois National Wildlife Refuge, Dwyer Stadium (Home of the Muckdogs), Jello Museum, Snow Tubing, Antiques and much more. With free parking and accessibility for trucks, buses, and RVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batavia
Batavia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.