We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Candies

Oliver's Candies
211 West Main St, Batavia, NY 14020
585-343-5888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Batavia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stop by and try some of their locally famous sponge candy! This sweet-smelling candy shop is filled with all kinds of tasty treats and custom gifts including chocolate! They even have their own ice cream parlor on-site! Open 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily, year round.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Easter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I purchased a chocolate cowboy boot filled with nuts, a chocolate fish and a chocolate bear from Oliver's for Easter this year. Very good chocolate and fun with all the different shapes available in the store.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,770 reviews 1,770 reviews
520 attraction reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
585 helpful votes 585 helpful votes
“Yummy - GREAT candies of all kinds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I was passing through Batavia today, and I just had to stop into this incredible store. Oliver's has been a landmark of this town for decades. They make and sell the best chocolates, candies of all kinds, box sets, truffles, and lots more. For people like me, they also produce some wonderful sugar-free varieties that taste almost like the full-carb varieties. Prices are moderate to high, but well-worth the price. Stop in, even if it just to breath the air! It's worth it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Biggest range of chocolate figures I've ever seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

When visiting Batavia recently, I was taken to Oliver's Candies. WOW! I've never ever seen so many and varied chocolate figures. And in milk, dark and white chocolate. And solid figures and hollow figures. Little ones and HUGE ones. And gift baskets.

So many products and lovely staff to help you find what you need. So worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
848 reviews 848 reviews
563 attraction reviews
Reviews in 293 cities Reviews in 293 cities
1,362 helpful votes 1,362 helpful votes
“A Valentine’s Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Although we have our own very good local chocolatier (Malley’s), while traveling to Batavia a few days prior to Valentine’s Day I decided to give Oliver’s a try for a change. I found that Oliver’s has a large selection of different varieties so one can find just the right combination but prices were generally a couple of dollars higher than our local chocolatier. Service was wonderful with the workers helping me to navigate the large selection to quickly find just what I wanted. They also wrapped, at no additional cost, any unwrapped selections and they will arrange shipment at checkout if desired. I purchased a box each of chocolate covered nuts for my wife and a box of chocolate soft centers for my daughter, each their favorite type; and they were both delighted with their chocolates. Trying both, I personally preferred the local chocolate covered nut clusters over Oliver’s as the local variety has a greater portion of chocolate in the cluster versus the one large chocolate covered nut of Oliver’s. On the other hand, I preferred Oliver’s soft centers over the local chocolatier’s.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best chocolate you will ever have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Oliver's has been a standard in this area..outstanding products. The prices are a little higher, but you get what you pay for. Chocolate is so good, and hundreds of varieties of molds at Easter. Very nice ice cream shop on the side of the building, as good as their candy. The owners have been major supporters of career education in the area by participating in our local Business Education Assn. I am not related to them nor friends, but I did work as a teacher and was given great support by the owner for job shadows, tours, etc.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Candies also viewed

 

Been to Oliver's Candies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Candies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.