We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4356 Commerce Drive, Batavia, NY 14020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Batavia
Pine City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“concert stay over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Nice big room, breakfast good. Easy in and out. Booked through Priceline OK price. Don't buy snacks, very expensive like $3.00 for ice cream cone. Bed was very comfortable. We had first floor room very spacious with 2 beds, table and desk. Small pool didn't use but looked clean. Hotel smelled really clean and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear shawn502,

Thank you for sharing you comments about your recent visit to our hotel, we appreciate the feedback and are happy all was good and clean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
11
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The first thing that impressed upon us at this hotel both times we've stayed there is how FREEZING COLD they keep it! The lobby, the dinning area, the hallways are like an arctic blast! It's unbelievable. Our first time there even when we got into our room the air was blasting set on like 65. This trip we actually cranked the heat as soon as we got in there. We practically wore winter clothes to eat breakfast (in August). I mentioned this to 2 different staff members at the front desk and their reply was "yes, it's very cold, I know. The general manager likes to keep it at that temperature." Which I find odd. Shouldn't the customers comfort be priority over the general manager's preference for sub zero temps? (ok, exaggeration but it's incredibly uncomfortable)

The hotel is still quite new looking except for the elevator rugs which aged very quickly.
The reception is friendly for the most part. The rooms are adequate though having a microwave in the room would be nice. The beds are comfortable and room service was good. We really only slept there but was glad not to hear any neighbors (we were on top floor so no footsteps above us). Wifi is free and fast. We were there for 3 nights during Kingdom Bound festival at Darien Lake so we always got in very late.
There's no mini fridge either which I like having as I tend to bring fresh fruit and plenty of water when I travel. The pool is insanely tiny but we didn't feel the temp of the water. Maybe it was more like a soaking bath.
Breakfast was disappointing. We had better across the parking lot at Hampton Inn in years past. The pancake machine was broken 2 of our 3 mornings. Stuff was running out constantly including plates, napkins, cinnamon rolls and replenished only when pointed out. The coffee was decent the first 2 mornings and horrible the third. For us the breakfast time ended way too early. We were never back from Darien Lake before midnight or later (the concerts don't end until 11:30) and getting 2 teenagers up for a breakfast that ended at 9:30 was painful. I didn't even bother waking them up the last day and we spent money instead at Bob Evans down the road (which was actually quite good)…so the "free breakfast" is not a plus if you'd like to get a little sleep in the morning.
I did use the printer downstairs for free, which was nice as I needed it.
The rooms aren't any bigger than Hampton Inn so we might go back there next year just for the breakfast alone (and the pool is bigger) and I think Hampton has a fridge in the room which is a plus for me.

Room Tip: we faced the warehouse in the back. Very ugly view and I heard the loading docks in the morning so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Lachance16,

Thank you for your review we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is not that I "like the temp that way" with the fluctuation of the temperature outside it is hard to regulate it to the liking of everyone, I try to keep it at one temp during the summer cause by the time it cools down outside then i have to turn it warmer, then it gets warmer outside and it goes back and forth, I will try something in between i guess, but even some mentioned it was too warm... so as the saying goes.... We do appreciate your comments and will try to improve. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Loved every minute. The room was awesome...bed comfortable and super clean! Amy at the front desk was helpful, friendly and courteous. Will stay again anytime we are in the area. Breakfast area was much larger than most hotels and certainly offered enough for a basic meal...muffin, eggs, sausage etc. This area was immaculate as well.

Room Tip: Very convenient to Darien Lake. We were on the first floor & not far from workout area / pool..n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Bob B,
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that all met or exceeded your expectations of our Holiday Inn Express in Batavia, NY. The staff here really strives to make every stay an enjoyable one, and an experience that will bring everyone back for a visit.! Thanks again and I will pass this on to Amy for a "Job well done!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times, as I frequently travel across I-90. The location is incredibly convenient; I love that it doesn't add any minutes to my long trip. It is always incredibly clean - the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is a pretty common hotel breakfast but I like that the hours are early enough for me to take advantage of it before heading back out the door. Each of my stays have been positive enough for me to continue staying here even when the Hampton Inn across the parking lot has been a tad less expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear badbcatha,

Thank you for your review, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, as we strive to make it right for all our guest's. We look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hi just came back from a 2 nt stay at the Holiday Inn Batavia - if yor just going to stay and sleep it is ok. Breakfast average, hotel amenities average. Most likely would not stay there again and try the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Signorina,

Wow what a bummer after reading all the reviews from guest's that stayed this past weekend this really lets us down, we are sorry that we were just OK... and did not exceed your expectations as well as we did others, we appreciate your feedback and will share it with the team. Happy Summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was a mother/daughter/grandson mini vacation (long weekend). Very pleased with the Holiday Inn Express Batavia. Nice clean, modern looking, quiet, well appointed and well located hotel. We used it as our base and did day trips to Darien Lakes Water Park and the Museum of Play in Rochester. Check in was a breeze (Priority Club member). Needed a fridge in the room and it was there within 1/2 hour of request. Able to control the air conditioning in the room, everything worked, great water pressure, beds were comfortable, fantastic pillows, got take out and delivery brochures from front desk and slept great. Breakfast was plentiful, hot and with lots of variety and my 4 year old grandson loved the pancake maker. Easy drive to Darien Lakes Water Park. After a long day at the water park it was great to discover that we could purchase frozen meals from the lobby and pop them into the microwave near the front desk. Saved us a ton of money and was way better than trying to take a 4 year old out to eat. Nice little indoor pool (a bit crowded one evening) and a sun patio. Loved watching a huge ground hog munching grass on the back lawn one evening. Chatted with the desk staff one evening and she filled me in on Rochester for our next day trip. Hotel was full at least one night yet it was quiet and comfortable, the breakfast was still plentiful and the staff still took the time to talk for a minute. One extra light would have been nice in the room as we did have to move the standing lamp around to get light where we needed it. Overall - GREAT STAY Will no doubt stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are happy that all was pleasant and comfortable and convenient, Thank you for choosing us we look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmira, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked our room through Priceline for after a concert at Darein Lake. We were given a handicap room on the first floor that was Huge. Everything looked and smelled so clean. Two queen beds, roll in shower I was sure about, but worked well. Water did seem to get all over the bathroom though. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, lots of choices. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. As we strive to make it work for everyone we are happy to know that the room worked and was spacious for you! Hope to see you again on the next concert..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake

Address: 4356 Commerce Drive, Batavia, NY 14020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Batavia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Batavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.