We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i lovvvvvveeee this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barryville Base and Kittatinny Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barryville Base and Kittatinny Campgrounds
Save Saved
You added Barryville Base and Kittatinny Campgrounds to your Saves list
3854 Route 97, Barryville, NY 12719   |  
Hotel amenities
Caldwell, New Jersey
1 review
“i lovvvvvveeee this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I love this this place we go every year and stay in the cabins, i never had anyone be rude to me there the only thing that sucks is that there is no phone service at all and i dont think there is a pay phone.... there is internet but the wont let you on they should get wi fi and charge we would of paid.... in case of emergency there is no way to call out......you have to raft or tube or something too, all in all i would never camp any where else...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    13
    16
    25
See reviews for
28
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

For those who like to go camping in a place where you can easily go to a regular bathroom and shower, this place is great. Pretty open sites with BBQ area and parking space. Is pretty cool that you can park your car next to the site too.
I also recommend their rafting tour. Is pretty cool :)
Going back next summer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just got home from a weekend at Indian Head. I read the reviews beforehand so knew what I was getting and the reviews are spot on. Campsites way to close together and all the groups around us were there to party - one group ALL night long. They had a full on band going on with tamborines & accordians. Don't expect peace and tranquility here- this is not the spot. That being said if you want a beautiful view and quick access to the river - bring earplugs and you might be ok.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Over crowded, beyond disgusting bathrooms, and rude staff. When I first walked into the bathroom I got sick to my stomach so I will spare you the details. My husband went to the office to complain about the bathrooms at around 8:00pm and was told "We had someone in to clean them at 4 but it's you people who are using the bathrooms." The next day they were even worse. The grounds were rocky, unkept, and dirty. Safe yourself some aggravation and look for another campground.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from kittatinny this morning with my husband and our dog. The first 2 nights we stayed with a large group of friends and we had a nice time. It wasn't loud and the employees came around in trucks a few times a day and even gave us extra garbage bags. The staff at the main house were friendly too. Now I know this is camping and not a 5 star hotel, but the bathrooms are absolutely disgusting. We paid $30 for 2 nights and you'd think they'd have decent facilities. I'm grateful that I was able to take a warm shower each day but the bathrooms are just gross--water and mud were always on the floor. At night practically all the toilets were clogged. All the activities are so expensive (I think kayaking was $45). I don't get how they only have a few bath houses for such a large property. With all the money they charge you there should be decent bathrooms. Who knows how often they are cleaned (mold was all over the bottom wall of one shower). 2 of our friends booked their campsite at kittatiny right near us and the neighbors were rude as anything. Blasting music past 11:00 then this morning one of them blasted music at 6:45 am!!! I was so pissed. No common curtesy at all. Overall we had a fun time but I don't think I'd come back here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Please do not waste your money!
You are literally sleeping on highway!! LOUD trucks all night long, and tents are very close to each other, so it's extremely loud if you want to sleep. Campground is dirty and very-very rude, unorganized and dishonest staff!! (overcharged us due to their own mistake)
NEVER COMING BACK!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Three friends of mine and my husband (all in our early 30's) just got back from here this weekend. Kittatinny Campgrounds is a great place to visit --- if you DON'T want to go camping and are looking for aggravation and little to no sleep. If you are looking for:

- campsites that are right on top of one another.
- loud rap music blasting until 5:00 in the morning
- people screaming and cursing while you try to sleep
- fireworks being set off all throughout the night
- sloping, hilly grounds to pitch your tent

then this is the place for you!

Initially, 3 friends, my husband and I booked a campsite at the Kittatinny PA site. Upon arriving, however, we were shocked to see that, although we had requested a site that was set back in the woods and isolated - (mentioning specifically that we did not want to be right on top of other campers) - we were not only surrounded by other campers, we were also right next to a busy road. Additionally, our "campsite for 8" could barely fit one 2 person tent and was on a patch of dirt. We requested to be transferred to the New York site instead, which was 45 minutes away and was allegedly "more woodsy." We decided to book two campsites right next to each other to give ourselves some extra room, just in case.

When we arrived at the New York site, we pulled into a bustling parking lot. Lots of people were milling around, checking in, getting ready to leave for or returning from one of the many activities Kitatinny offers: rafting, kayaking, zip-lining....over the parking lot (??)...I was a little wary, wondering if the campsites would be as packed as the parking lot, but remained hopeful. From the main parking lot, we drove up a winding road. Luckily, there were trees at this site!! Which was an improvement from the PA site. However, there were tents and people everywhere the eye could reach. Tent on top of tent on top of tent. Luckily, the 3 sites right next to our own were vacant, so that gave us some extra space.

We all got over the fact that the campground was much more packed and loud than what we had been envisioning. Had we camped at other places where things were much quieter, more peaceful, and more scenic? Sure. But, whatever! We were hear to have a good time. Sure, the fact that the site across from ours was blasting Wu Tang Clan from their jeep stereo at a volume so high that the bass was vibrating in our chests was a little irritating but, what the heck. It was only about 5:00. Quiet hours were stated in the contract as not starting until 11 pm. We would be fine. And hey, it's not as if we were looking to sit around, whisper, and slip into our tents at 8:30 pm. We drank some beers, played cards, sat around our fire, laughed. We just knew to keep it down once 11:00 rolled around.

Unfortunately, not many other seemed to know this.

I believe I slept a total of 3 hours while camping. When I tell you that people were literally screaming at the top of their lungs and cursing until 5:00 a.m., I mean they were literally screaming and cursing until 5:00 am. Fire works (though allegedly banned) also went off multiple times at ungodly hours throughout the night. (our dog especially loved this) Luckily, in between the cursing, screaming, and explosion of fireworks, there was a nice reprieve when campers at another site decided it was time to start attacking surrounding trees with a machete. (something else that is allegedly banned) Kitattiny also, logically, also decrees that campers may not arrive after a given time. (I think it's something like 4:00 pm) Makes sense, right? Somehow, however, a caravan of 8 cars (I am not exaggerating) at the site next to us managed to roll in at 12:45 am...which was, apparently the perfect time to pitch tents, blast music, and have loud conversations.

Could this campground have potential? Probably. Truthfully, I think we could have gotten over the fact that the campground was packed - it WAS gorgeous summer weekend after all. We could have even gotten over the fact that our tent was pitched on a hill and that people were RIGHT next to you. The Delaware river is down the hill and across the street and Kittatinny offers soooo many raft/kayaking excursions that would probably be a blast. But their lack of follow through with their own rules seems to have resulted in clientele that are increeeedibly rude and self-centered. We were also really excited that Kittatiny allowed us to bring our dog. As I said before, I camped with 4 other young, laid back people that were also looking to have a good time. By no means were we expecting complete silence at all times. But we also were not expecting to be woken repeatedly at all hours of the night by explosions, machetes, blaring rap music, screaming, and cursing. To me, this was not camping - it was more like spending a night at a trailer park. We will never go back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barryville Base and Kittatinny Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barryville Base and Kittatinny Campgrounds

Address: 3854 Route 97, Barryville, NY 12719
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Barryville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Barryville
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kittatinny Campground has 350 campsites on 250 acres in both beautiful wooded and open grass settings. Located in Barryville, New York, it is the premier campground along the scenic upper Delaware River in the Catskill Mountains offering prime (Delaware River front and Beaver Brook) or wooded sites. A beautiful trout stream winding through an enchanted forest of hemlock and oak provides inviting brookside camping in addition to our open, grass-covered sites bordering the Delaware River. Join us around the warm glow of a campfire for an evening under the stars after a day of relaxed fishing or exciting whitewater rafting. Kittatinny Canoes offers daily trips for experienced and novice paddlers. Raft, canoe, kayak, tube, calmwater and whitewater we have something for everyone, regardless of your experience level! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barryville Base And Kittatinny Campgrounds Hotel Barryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barryville Base and Kittatinny Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.