We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecce Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecce Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Ecce Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
19 Silverfish Road, Barryville, NY 12719   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Barryville B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful quiet weekend away in a beautiful room with an amazing view and our host could not have been better. Never had a breakfast like that in my life and he makes a great cocktail as well. Also, we always enjoy the Christmas card we get every year which reminds us we need to go back. Planning next trip right now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eccebandb, Owner at Ecce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your taking the time to submit such a generous review! We are very glad you enjoy our annual cards as it is our small way to wish you a happy & healthy new year. We very much appreciate this feedback and hope to have a chance host you again soon. Stay well.
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
119
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 1 night at Ecce as part of a trip down memory lane in the Catskills. We are so happy we took other reviews into consideration and booked Ecce - the stay was comfortable, warm, welcoming and truly beyond expectations (we generally stay at hotels but have tried at least a dozen B&Bs so we have some points of comparison). For starters, Alan and Kurt have great taste - the place was beautifully decorated with artwork by local artists (some of which is available for purchase) but still felt welcoming and comfortable. My husband was also happy with the complimentary liquor which is left out in case someone wants a nightcap over a book. Alan and Kurt also host guests daily for cocktails+apps at around 5:30 - we spent a nice chunk of time talking with them about all sorts of things before heading out to dinner. As a bonus, Kurt is a great cook - your breakfast order is taken the evening before and comes out absolutely impeccable (like you're at a restaurant - I tried the eggs in the clouds, which were delicious!). The entire experience was heads above other B&Bs, much less that of a generic hotel - I can't recommend this B&B enough. We look forward to an excuse to be up in the Barryville area just so we can stay at Ecce again!

Room Tip: The Sunset 1 and the Ridge are the less expensive options but we found the Sunset 1 to be lovely. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eccebandb, Owner at Ecce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear K&W
You are THE BEST! Cannot thank you enough for your glowing review! As a result, we regained our #1 position as the best B&B in the entire Catskill Region out of 125 B&B's.
Hope the rest of your travels was fun filled. Please keep us posted on the family update...very exciting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to Ecce, in celebration of our anniversary. Each time gets better and better. Alan and Kurt welcomed us with open arms and warm smiles and provided a wonderful getaway of laughter and respite. The food is phenomenal- that's actually an understatement for the 'eggs in a cloud' and the 'monkey bread'. The house is so cozy and inviting- it's always tough to leave after the weekend. I look forward to staying at Ecce for years to come. It is truly a gem. Thank you to Alan and Kurt for another fabulous memory.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eccebandb, Owner at Ecce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
You are too kind! Since meeting you on your honeymoon at ECCE and each anniversary thereafter, we feel like family! Hope you enjoy your upcoming travels...send pictures! Have a great Thanksgiving holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Words cannot describe the true beauty that is ECCE. If you are looking for a place to getaway in order to unwind and relax, ECCE is the place to go. The views are spectacular, the ambiance is perfect, the food is to die for, all that you want and more goes into this bed and breakfast. Kurt and Alan truly love what they do, and you can see it in every detail and hard work they put in. They really go above and beyond to get to know you and make sure your stay is nothing less than perfect. After a rough week of work and graduate school we were lucky enough to escape to serenity that ECCE provides. We enjoyed a fun scavenger hunt on the trails that ended with a beautiful sunset. The meet and greet hour they provide was so fun, we got to meet and mingle with the other guest while enjoying delicious hor'dourves. We awoke to a cloudy overcast morning and honestly it was still as amazing to be on level with the clouds. It was a weekend we will never forget, we did not want to leave and are anticipating we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eccebandb, Owner at Ecce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much! As you can tell ECCE is a "Labor of Love" for us, so we very much appreciate
knowing you enjoyed your stay with us. It was terrific getting to know you. We hope to stay in touch and have an opportunity to continue our friendship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

my second visit to Ecce - how lucky am I - very!! my first visit was in the Spring - unfortunately my busy summer kept me from returning to Ecce until early fall - the view is postcard perfect -the rooms are out of a magazine - the art work and history is wonderful. Oh and the flowers and the sculptures are beauteous !
I love to just read and rest on the hammock or the lounge chair! There is lots to do in the area as well.
All this makes Ecce great however, what makes it excellent - that would be the hosts we have never experienced such warmth Alan and Kurt are truly wonderful!
To see people love what they are doing is what makes the visit extra special - whatever is going on at Ecce they are never to busy to stop everything and take care of the guests! Cocktails and the best apps inside or out and meeting the other guests and chatting & laughing with Alan & Kurt is my favorite time. Again, I have been to many B&Bs in the states and Europe I have never had such personalized attention let alone the best breakfast ever served! Everything at Ecce is done with love!! Cannot wait to go back - fingers crossed for a mild winter so we can head up for a visit - Queen b

Room Tip: all rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eccebandb, Owner at Ecce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Queen Bee-
Thanks so much for your very generous review! You are truly unbeeeelievable!
From your Barryville "Honey Bees!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The property is nice and the views are amazing (especially for the area) but we did not find the host warm and welcoming. It felt there were doing there job but not happy doing it. It made us feel very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenvale, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've been to Ecce a few times over the years, and it gets better and better. Alan and Kurt are the perfect hosts. The rooms are spacious, and our every need is anticipated. The grounds are spectacular and there is beautiful artwork around the property. The area is full of activities, there is something for everyone. we espcially love the restaurants. Fit for foodies, and unpretentious. Can't wait to book our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eccebandb, Owner at Ecce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We so much appreciate your review! It was terrific seeing you again and having an opportunity to catching up. It was a fun weekend and loved that all the guests enjoyed each other's company.
That's the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecce Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecce Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Silverfish Road, Barryville, NY 12719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Barryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning mountain house perched on a bluff 300 feet above The Upper Delaware River. Located on 60 acres, Ecce offers panoramic views of the NY and PA mountain ranges. 5 elegantly appointed rooms all have private baths(some w/ whirlpool tubs) and refreshment centers w/complimentary snacks and beverages. Savor full country breakfasts made to order on outdoor decks overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ecce Bed Breakfeast Barryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecce Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.