We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where time stands still” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartwell House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hartwell House to your Saves list
Hartwell House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Where time stands still”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is our favourite hotel in England. Timeless, peaceful, relaxing and utterly beautiful. Physically, it is as lovely a stately home as you would wish for. You really feel as though you are Lord and Lady of the Manor.
What makes it perfect is the very unstuffy yet old fashioned level of service of the staff. They are attentive, always helpful but unobtrusive.
This is a very special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    76
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
65
158
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

As long term visitors to this normally very reliable hotel we might think twice next time. The price was expensive for a standard room. The food was totally off the plot and expensive. The service was at times rude and uncaring. It was not until a senior manager came along that common sense resumed. Try the room service. They really worked hard for us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed her for one night to celebrate wedding anniversary with my husband. The drive up to the hotel is very impressive, sweeping around to the front of the house. On entering you realise you really are going to be staying in one of those wonderful old houses you normally only get to walk around behind roped off areas.

Our suite was amazing, looking over the driveway in the main house. It had a huge four poster bed and the largest fireplace I've ever seen in a house, let alone in a bedroom. We loved the decor, completely fitted in with the style of the house, bit with the modcons.

We used the spa in the afternoon. Usually when hotels add a spa the pool is small and a bit of an after thought....not here. The pool was a great size and lovely to relax beside, with a great choice of magazines and an outdoor hot tub. Only small comment was that there was no clock to be seen so you were sort of guessing when to get ready for any treatments.

Before dinner we had drinks in the main lounge, with the log fire nearby. We did feel we were guided towards a small table as opposed to sitting next to the fire (made up for this with our after dinner coffees!). Dinner menu was good, I'm pregnant and there was a good range of starters/mains which I could eat, although not desserts which was unusual. Dinner was excellent, good sized portions, and the serving staff were efficient and friendly. There was no sommelier and no-one asked my husband if he needed any advice on wine which I would have expected somewhere this smart. The dining room was lovely, with a pianist playing just outside the room which allowed you to appreciate the music whilst not having to shout over it.

Breakfast next day was a tad shambolic, they really seemed under staffed. Two tables were seated after us and served before us, we had to go up to ask for coffees....not great. I had specifically asked for my eggs to be well cooked as I am pregnant, they arrived not so, but fresh ones were prepared correctly promptly. The choice of fruit/cereal was good, but could have done with few more interesting pastries.

Wifi was excellent throughout the hotel, and free, which made a nice change compared to lots of other top-end hotels.

Overall an excellent stay, would definitely make more time for relaxing in the spa if stayed again, and a stroll round the imoressive looking grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

To celebrate a notable event in delightful surroundings with historical links, this is the place for you. Hartwell House, with its period architecture and very comfortable furnishings, complimented, by the excellent service from the staff proved the ideal venue for our 60th Wedding Anniversary overnight stay and dinner gift from our family.The food was extremely good and the restaurant service second to none, attentive and obliging throughout. Unfortunately there was insufficient time to explore the house and grounds adequately, but this would be a good reason for a further visit. A date for the diary, undoubtedly!
A truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the tree lined avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We never tire of entering this wonderful old building. The ambience in the great hall is reminiscent of a bygone age. The immaculate service from the moment you are greeted to the moment you leave is always a joy. The restaurant is as good as ever and this is always our first choice for a special celebration dinner. It is by far and away the best place in the area for such an occasion.

Our only disappointment is that, since the National Trust have owned it, they have relaxed the dress code for gentlemen which was always politely pointed out to be a jacket and tie. Although the restaurant standards are still very high, it is a disappointment to see some diners sitting there in jeans with shirts outside their belts. Without sounding too " Victor Meldrew" about it, it lowers the tone! and detracts from the sense of occasion they seek to create.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

A special occasion meal. Fantastic food but, oh my Lord, the bill! A special evening but your wallet will take a battering! The grounds are spectacular, the food is exquisite, the service is professional and a mix of Slavic and French, and none the worse for it. These guys take service seriously.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I last had tea here in march this year and have just returned from my second visit. I have to say Hartwell have upped their game since being rather disappointed last time. the cakes, instead of being of a rustic nature, more suited to a garden centre tea, were this time varied and delicious, fruit tartlets and choux swans. more what I would expect , so I was pleasantly surprised.
However, the service needs improvement, not very attentive and I do not expect to have to hunt for a member of staff to bring us the bill and then cant find anyone and had to go to the reception to pay. not very impressive. I expect to do this in a café, not a 5 star establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House

Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury > Hartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartwell House is a beautifully restored 17th century Grade 1 listed stately home. The magnificent rooms are superbly furnished with antiques and hung with fine paintings. Many of the exquisitely designed bedrooms and suites are in the house and some in Hartwell Court, the converted coach houses or the Old Rectory. Royal rooms have high ceilings, fine fabrics and dreamy views over the extensive landscape, it is a truly idyllic setting.There are thirty bedrooms and suites on three floors in the main house each aimed at ensuring your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. In addition there are ten suites and six bedrooms in Hartwell Court, the adjacent 18th century indoor riding school. The Old Rectory Hartwell has a superbly appointed master four poster suite with a sitting room and three other bedrooms with bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hartwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Hotel Aylesbury
Hartwell Hotel Aylesbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartwell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.