We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartwell House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hartwell House to your Saves list
Hartwell House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had an amazing day at this wonderful hotel. The staff were very attentative and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was wonderful - Octagon. The grounds were wonderful where we had some great photos taken by our Professional photography. The food was out of this world and what you would expect from this establishment. All our guests could not thank us enough for what a wonderful day they had spent with us at Hartwell House. Truly a wonderful lunch and day had by all. Thank you to all the staff who made my husbands birthday lunch so perfect and a day to remember for mny years to come.
I would highly reccomend this Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    76
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
65
157
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hartwell House is a beautiful 18 C stately home with excellent bedrooms in a serene parkland setting. The drawing rooms and restaurant are quite lovely in terms of décor and vistas. The main restaurant itself has an extremely good menu and it is well priced-especially at lunch time. Service is friendly and professional without being remotely aloof and the overall Hartwell is experience is highly recommended..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here in July 2013 spending 2 days in total. There is much to do here walking the wonderful grounds as well as visiting nearby National trust properties and of course the spa. The staff and facilities were excellent in every respect and no different from our annual New Years eve celebration. If you want somewhere to go for a special occasion you can do no better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

After spending another beautiful day with my partner having an Indulgance day at the Hartwell Spa for my birthday, I felt for the first time the need to share the experience. I go here every Birthday & Christmas & have never been disappointed. The facilities are welcoming & relaxing. I find the menu in the spa cafe suits all tastes fancy or not & you can even get a cheeky glass of wine. I find it so difficult choosing a treatment as they are all fabulous & my biggest praise must go to the therapist Nadine who as well as having magic hands always remembers me & asks how my family are for the personal touch. Best of all for such luxurious surroundings it does not break the bank xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic spa day package. Staff where amazingly helpful and spread our day out well. I experienced one off the best massages in a very long time. The lunch time menu was lovely we enjoyed ourselves and had a fab day will b looking forward to booking up again next month

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

fabulous end to our engagement trip in the Cotswold's. arrived at the hotel after a long hot day at Blenheim palace to find a lovely lady behind reception whom couldn't have been more helpful and even managed to upgrade us to one of there luxury suites. we wanted a Sunday roast for evening meal but unfortunately the restaurant only serves at lunch, but like a good host she rand a couple of local establishments to see if she could find one for us and offered us a menu to peruse in our room some should we change our mind and want to eat in the restaurant. the porter was fabulous!!! it was like having a tour of the house as we were shown to our room, he knew the whole history of the house and the people who had lived there we could have listened to him for hours. once in the room he showed us where everything was and where all the amenity s were and even offered to bring us tea in our room. not long after settling in the receptionist called us back to inform us nowhere was serving roasts so we decided to eat in there restaurant after all and so glad we did, fine dining at its best some of the best food iv ever eaten. highly recommend the pea soup, duck and homemade strawberry ice cream. staff were all very attentive not letting our glasses get to empty and the portion sizes were good too. we decided to take the rest of our drinks to the library after dinner such a lovely comfortable room to relax in and the staff were still available to make sure you were as comfortable as possible without imposing on your privacy. we returned to our rooms to find the curtains drawn and the bed turned down which as a nice touch. the morning a newspaper and tea was delivered to refresh you for breakfast. breakfast was delicious cereal, pastry's, fruit and juices plus cooked to order breakfast all made from local produce and very tasty. after all that food we thought we had better use the spa facilities to burn some of the calories off, lovely heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room also had an outside sun bathing area which was nice. all in all wish we could have stayed longer and would certainly return again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: we had room 10 fabulous room, extremely large suite. it faces toward the frond of the house looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just returned from taking Afternoon Tea at Hartwell House, a Birthday present from a good friend. It was a very lovely treat indeed. The staff were polite, friendly and efficient, the rooms in which the tea settings are laid out are beautiful and the tea itself was just what you would hope for and very satisfying - we won't need food later today. The house and its settings are so very English and the whole experience was perfect. I would certainly recommend the experience and also it was a different and thoroughly enjoyable present.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House

Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury > Hartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartwell House is a beautifully restored 17th century Grade 1 listed stately home. The magnificent rooms are superbly furnished with antiques and hung with fine paintings. Many of the exquisitely designed bedrooms and suites are in the house and some in Hartwell Court, the converted coach houses or the Old Rectory. Royal rooms have high ceilings, fine fabrics and dreamy views over the extensive landscape, it is a truly idyllic setting.There are thirty bedrooms and suites on three floors in the main house each aimed at ensuring your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. In addition there are ten suites and six bedrooms in Hartwell Court, the adjacent 18th century indoor riding school. The Old Rectory Hartwell has a superbly appointed master four poster suite with a sitting room and three other bedrooms with bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hartwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Hotel Aylesbury
Hartwell Hotel Aylesbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartwell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.