We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartwell House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hartwell House to your Saves list
Hartwell House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Visited Hartwell House for afternoon tea on a week day in April. The House is absolutely stunning as are the grounds. We were served tea in the drawing room. Afternoon tea is a set affair with a selection of dainty sandwiches, tiny little cakes and scones and your choice of various different teas or coffee. At £25 per person it may not suit everyone's pocket but for a special occasion for a mum or aunt a lovely way to spend an afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    80
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
74
175
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liss, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked three rooms over the bank holiday weekend. We had been nervous of the hotel being busy over the bank holiday and we were new to the area and hotel. Reception staff were first class and upgraded our rooms without being asked. Period charm oozed from the rooms and we felt very special in our galleried rooms. Dinner was first class accompanied by the pianist who played on our request selected pieces. We really could not fault the food or service. It is not the cheapest of hotels but for a special occasion it ticked the box. House and rooms were spotless, tea coffee in room together with homemade biscuits which was a lovely touch. Hope to return again.

Room Tip: Gallery courtyard rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratovecchio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary here in April 2013 with our families ( 16 in all, including a 4yr old and a baby) with dinner, overnight accommodation & breakfast, our meals were taken in the Octagon Dinning Room, a wonderful room setting for private dinning . The staff were excellent , attentive, polite and courteous, made us feel welcome and helped make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook the estate park, very tranquil and also have direct access onto an enclos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratovecchio, Italy
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed as part of a wedding anniversary celebration with friends and family, and everything was perfect, even the weather. The grounds were a joy to explore, the food and wine was very good. Our rooms were lovely, and the waitress who looked after our party was very caring. Thank you Hartwell House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

To celebrate Mum's 75th birthday we took 3 generations to Hartwell House for dinner and an overnight stay. After looking round Waddesdon Manor in the day it was a great treat to arrive at Hartwell House and be able to relax in the sort of environment which is normally "don't touch, don't sit" etc. The staff were wonderfully friendly and happy to joke with us (which we like to do!). They told us some of the history including the wonderful carved knights on the staircase. Whilst Mum & husband took tea in the sunshine on the terrace, the children & I enjoyed the pool at the spa. We had been told in advance about the times when children are allowed in the pool so it was no trouble to time ours swims for these periods.

Dinner was good - the domed ceiling is a slight problem as conversations from other tables can be amplified so you can hear others' conversations.

We had three very large bedrooms between us, all well appointed. Top tip - ask for a tea tray in your room if you like to "do your own thing" rather than phoning for room service when you want a cuppa in the morning.

A truly memorable experience - wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

As a member of the National Trust, I was happy to book this wonderful hotel as a special birthday treat for my wife. On arrival, we were (without our asking) upgraded to the "Queen's Room", an enormous, elegant room with stunning views and a supremely comfortable four-poster bed. The attention to detail was meticulous, and the provision of toiletries, etc., excellent. We made full use of the lovely swimming-pool and spa.

Dinner was of a very high standard, although expensive. The Continental buffet breakfast was similarly first-class, although, sadly, there was a problem with the cooked breakfast. This has already been the subject of a comment to the hotel management, so nothing further will be said here. However, we did not allow this minor glitch to spoil our enjoyment of our stay at this superb hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I want to thank all the staff for their continued attention to detail .The food is excellent no request is too much.The hotel is set in beautiful gardens .The setting is very peaceful and calm.The staff are considerate and attentive without being intrusive. JM

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House

Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury > Hartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartwell House is a beautifully restored 17th century Grade 1 listed stately home. The magnificent rooms are superbly furnished with antiques and hung with fine paintings. Many of the exquisitely designed bedrooms and suites are in the house and some in Hartwell Court, the converted coach houses or the Old Rectory. Royal rooms have high ceilings, fine fabrics and dreamy views over the extensive landscape, it is a truly idyllic setting.There are thirty bedrooms and suites on three floors in the main house each aimed at ensuring your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. In addition there are ten suites and six bedrooms in Hartwell Court, the adjacent 18th century indoor riding school. The Old Rectory Hartwell has a superbly appointed master four poster suite with a sitting room and three other bedrooms with bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hartwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Hotel Aylesbury
Hartwell Hotel Aylesbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartwell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.