We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bankside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uggeshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bankside B&B
Save
You added Bankside B&B to your Saves list
The Hills, Uggeshall, Southwold NR34 8EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Uggeshall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincolnshire
1 review
“Peaceful and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights in March this year. A little gem hidden in the heart of Suffolk.
Facilities were excellent. Comfortable King size-bed, spacious and luxurious en-suite bedroom.
Tony and Elaine are friendly hosts with excellent local knowledge. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Elaine and Tony had stylishly renovated Bankside with the last year. If you were expecting a country cottage interior, you'd be disappointed - This is boutique B&B in the heart of rural Suffolk. I love the crisp white bed linen, and the nice touches in the room tell you they really care about their guests. The breakfast is scrumptious - yes, you can taste the freshness and the goodness of the locally sourced produce; it's also substantial - last us til tea time! Elaine & Tony were so welcoming, and so helpful, it was sheer pleasure staying there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Peaceful rural setting and we were welcomed by friendly hosts.

I had done my research on the area and this was backed up by Tony and Elaine, adding a few
suggestions..very helpful.

Great two nights sleep in a superbly comfortable king size!

Breakfast museuli wonderful (made by Tony) would have liked to have tried the blueberry smoothie, but didn`t fit in with menu layout..Shame... just a taster would have been great!

One thing which was apparent,was that I was staying in someone`s home, rather than B&B, I am very respectful in this issue, but felt there were too many "unsaid rules", having initially been asked to bring "house footwear".

Lovely chatting to Tony and Elaine. They have great premises in a wonderful spot!

Room Tip: Only two rooms.. The one we had was so comfortable and overlooked the wooded area in the lane..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have just returned from 8 fabulous days staying at Bankside B&B.We were very well looked after by the owners Liz & Nigel who gave us the best meet & greet we have recieved at any B&B we have stayed at .The room we stayed in was superb,with king size bed and lots of extras you dont normaly get with a lovely modern en-suite.The B&B is small with only two rooms the accomodation is immaculately clean throughout with everything you need on your stay.The award winning breakfast deserves all the awards it as recieved and we loved the early morning banter with Liz & Nigel on where to go and what to see.
You are very well situated here to do all of the Suffolk coast ,inland towns and historic villages also The Norfolk Broads and coast.There are plenty of places to find your evening meal within a short drive of your lovely rural location at Bankside.
We will definitely return to Bankside on our next visit to this beautiful area

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Bankside in May and were so well looked after by the owners Liz & Nigel who gave us a nice friendly welcome and were there for us whenever we wanted advice. The room was super with a very comfortable bed and lots of extras we didn’t expect. The whole b&b was so spotless and beautifully clean with a. high attention to detail. Breakfast was a highlight with a lovely selection including the fresh fruit salad that other b&b’s don’t offer. Lovely cooked breakfast.
Very calming and relaxing place to stay
The b&b is in a very quiet spot with no traffic and lovely views of the woods opposite. All in all we got more than we expected from a 4*. We’ll give them 5*!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We have stayed in many b&b's over the years and this must rate as the best!. Great location in peaceful countryside not far from Southwold. We were warmly greeted by Liz & Nigel, the owners who looked after us magnificently for our stay giving us tips on the best places to see and eat! All came up trumps!
The b&b is small, immaculately clean, and very well presented with many luxury items in the rooms.
The breakfast was to die for and we are not suprised that they have a breakfast award!
The rooms was spacious with every extra we could think of. The en suite was beautifully clean and you could have put our toothbrush on the floor! Bed was very supportive and we had great nights sleep.
Plenty of off street parking and a very good welcoming and friendly atmosphere. The owners go that extra mile!
We can't wait to return later this year.
Can't think of any negatives at all!

Room Tip: Book early!! They are very busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We paid £75 a night for a weekend here. We were made to feel very welcome, although i did feel there were a few too many "suggested" ways of doing things.
Different to other B&Bs we have stayed in - it's a very modern house, with 2 of the bedrooms used for B&B. We therefore felt rather like we was intruding a bit on someone else's home. There was a small breakfast room, but apart from this no other room to relax in outside the bedroom, just a lot of closed doors everywhere. Because of this it lacked the relaxed atmosphere i usually like at a B&B.
The house was extremely clean and tidy. Lovely breakfast, only lacked a bit of fresh fruit. Good selection of local information. Modern en suite bedroom with all the bits you would expect, although i wasn't impressed with the bathroom products.
There are no pubs/restaurants/shops nearby, so don't expect to be able to go out for dinner without driving.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eurotraveller777, Owner at Bankside B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to review our b&b. It is important to us to have our guests comments to ensure that we are able to modify our service where necessary.
We were pleased that you felt you were made very welcome and that you found our b&b to be extremely clean and tidy and that you enjoyed our breakfast (including the fresh fruit compote of the day!). We also noted that you had a good night's sleep!.
We are a small 2 bedroomed b&b and therefore can't provide Hotel or Guest House facilities (ie Lounge etc). We would however note that local Hotel prices are nearly double ours!
We do advertise as being in a pretty countryside setting which gives our guests a high degree of peace and quiet!. As a result of this, the nearest Pub is about one and a half miles away but Southwold with it's large selection of Pubs and Restaurants is only 10 minutes by car!
As regards atmosphere, some 50% of our guest are returnees who love the atmosphere we provide and come back year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bankside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankside B&B

Address: The Hills, Uggeshall, Southwold NR34 8EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Uggeshall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Uggeshall
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique bed and breakfast in tranquil setting, 10 minutes from Southwold and 15 minutes from Minsmere, offering the highest standards of comfort and award-winning gourmet breakfasts. Bankside B&B combines elegant boutique style accommodation with a warm and friendly atmosphere and provides a peaceful and relaxing base from which to explore this beautiful and unspoilt part of Suffolk.The two south-facing double bedrooms have a stylish contemporary look and feel created by the use of beautifully hand-crafted furniture. Both are tastefully furnished with king-size bed, flat screen TV with Freeview, top of the range linens and en-suite facilities.Our award-winning Gourmet breakfasts are freshly prepared using the finest ingredients from local farmers, growers and dairies and served in the stylish dining room which overlooks the garden and picturesque woodland opposite. When the weather allows, breakfast can be enjoyed on the patio. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bankside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.