We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lighthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thirty Mile Point Light

Thirty Mile Point Light
Lower Lake Road, Golden Hill State Park, Barker, NY
716-795-3885
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Barker
Attraction details
Munster bei Dieburg, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We came here to see the lighthouse and to enjoy the view of the lake!
It's $6 to register your car, and $1 for a tour of the lighthouse! I loved the interior, and even though I am afraid of height, I was brave and went all the way up. What a great view!
It was very well worth it, especially since I just love spending time around water :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Waste of Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We drove out of our way to come to the lighthouse at Golden Hill State Park. According to the state website, the lighthouse was open Monday and Tuesday from 2-4pm. We were there on a Tuesday at 3:30pm and were told, without any explanation, that the lighthouse was closed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent an hour or so visiting this light, the house is in great condition and well maintained. Very nice stone bldg with Slate roof. Spent $6 for a car load to enter the park/campground, and $1 per person to tour the inside. Beautiful area. We didn't camp but it doesn't seem like a very good campground. basically parking in a field, or between the access roads for the lighthouse.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful old Lighthouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My brother got married here less than a week ago, so I had the opportunity to visit this lighthouse for the third time. The first time was when I was a kid and I also visited it a month or two ago just to check it out and see where the wedding would take place.

Its a great place.....so much history...........tours are very inexpensive. I have never gone into the small interpretive center right next to the lighthouse, but I hope to someday.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming Lighthouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

stopped by this lighthouse on the way home from Olcott Beach Had to pay admission fee of $6 to get into Park and then more if you wanted an escorted tour of the Lighthouse. We choose to not take the tour and walked around ourselves. Seen better Lighthouses in my travels but this was ok. The water of Lake Ontario was so clear, a little pier is here.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirty Mile Point Light also viewed

 

Been to Thirty Mile Point Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirty Mile Point Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.