We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably won't return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Augie's Family Style Italian

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Augie's Family Style Italian
17 Low Street, Ballston Spa, NY 12020
(518) 884-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Ballston Spa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Probably won't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visit the Saratoga region every year. Hadn't been to Augie's in a few years and had liked it so decided to return there this year. I think the key here is knowing what to order and we don't.
Platters are family sized and it is a lot of food so if you are traveling with a group, this is good.
We hit it on a Monday night which is 2 people for $36.95. Includes app, entrée, and dessert.
It was way too much food for 2 people and the food was just OK. We had the Veal and Chicken dish and it was basically chick/parm with veal thrown in and a lot of red sauce. Service was spotty. We had to ask for bread...were never served any. We were a group of 6. Salad for 4 came out and an app for the third couple came out at the same time. They never got the salad part of their meal. It was all confusing. When they asked for the salad after the app the explanation wasn't clear and they were given a take home salad in a plastic container.
It was very busy and very noisy in there....awful almost. We could not hear at all to talk.
There were 2 large groups of about 12+ people there and they were literally yelling etc.
Not the fault of the restaurant but when you get large groups, this sometimes happens.
This is an average Italian restaurant that serves large portions. Think next year we will skip this experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    36
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always crowded...one meal and you'll know why”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Generous portions to say the least, each order can feed at least two hungry people. Fairly small inside, tight parking lot. Easy to miss if you didn't know where it is. Any negatives are completely offset by the great taste of the food. Portions are served family style for sharing, you'll certainly want to not only eat your own but try others' choices too. Our favorites are the Chicken Marsala and especially the "Kitchen Sink". Most items are available for takeout-a half pan can feed a small family for a few nights, or be a special treat for a small party or function. Catering too. They do very little advertising because they don't have to, word of mouth keeps them quite busy as it is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family eats here about once a year. The food is excellent. 2 entrees is enough for 2 dinners for 4 people. The restaurant is always very crowded and noisy, which is why we do not go more often. The staff is excellent. I think I would enjoy smaller entrees with lower prices so we could sample more items. With my family, smaller entrees would still be family style. I guess I would rather spend less and have no leftovers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is outstanding. If it were twice the size it would probably still be full. The food is outstanding, the portions will keep you full for days and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The prices are also very reasonable for the portions received. This place is a real gem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Beach, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious local Italian joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After receiving a tip from our shuttle driver on where to go to eat, we read the rave reviews and decided to give it a shot. We are glad we did. The food was excellent and they give you plenty of it. The server was extremely courteous and attentive. Great find!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augie's Family Style Italian also viewed

Ballston Spa, NY
Ballston Spa, NY
 

Been to Augie's Family Style Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augie's Family Style Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.