We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very satisfying” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medbery Inn and Day Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Medbery Inn and Day Spa to your Saves list
Medbery Inn and Day Spa
48 Front Street, Ballston Spa, NY 12020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballston Spa
Hudson Valley
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not very satisfying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went to this spa and inn a few times for a relaxing, romantic get away but the last time it was disappointing. The rooms are not cleaned very thoroughly, We were signed up for spa services that we did not order and that we were expected to pay for! The manager/owner was very unfriendly also. We will not be going back. This place has gone down hill in several ways.

Room Tip: I would go to another place if you want a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Park, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is our second year in a row going to the Medbery for a weekend getaway. We aren't into the track or any of that, and we had such a wonderful time last year, we decided to go back again, before it gets busy! Family owned and run, it is just such a treat. The most comfy beds, wonderful suites, directions to fun places to go in Saratoga for the evening, spa services to die for...you name it, it's all there!! Thanks again for another amazingly fun and relaxing weekend!! See you next year!!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my second trip to the spa for a mineral bath. The mineral bath are something we can not experience in my state. The staff at the spa are always polite and helpful. The manager has
always given us great tips like eating at the whistling kettle and what to do in Manchester, VT.
This time, Jim (I believe his name is) had to reopen the SPA at night because I discovered I lefted my I phone in the bath room. He know we were on a tight schedule because it was a road trip and was very agreeable around helping us out by looking for my phone! Thanks again
A road trip to NY is not complete without a mineral bath!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Park, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had a WONDERFUL weekend here this past spring. The rooms were quaint, the Jacuzzi bath was inviting, with an excellent lavender bubble bath waiting for us! The bed was so very comfortable and we slept like babies. The next day, we enjoyed the spa. We each had hour long facials and 90 minute massages. It was so very nice to leave our rooms, in nice bathrobes and walk right down to the spa. Our spa services were AMAZING! We felt pampered and Jared made sure that every request we had was met with great information and we felt very well taken care of. We took his suggestions for local restaurants and they were also wonderful. Jared even made recommendations for pubs to try in Saratoga, where we spent one afternoon/evening. He arranged a cab for us, as well. We plan to be back there again soon!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This place was great!!! I work in an inn and I think the medbury is great!!! The rooms are clean. The beds are so comfortable!!!! The sheets are the softest sheets I've ever slept on!!! Dolores and her son Jared were so nice, they felt like family!!! The spa services were amazing!!!! I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hello all. I think it's time for a REAL review. Not one made up by the empoyees of a competitor.

Kate and I just got married on Sept. 1st. of this year. We wanted a nice place to go away and relax after all the excitement of our wedding. We checked out the Medberry online after a few reccomendations. Let me tell you, I am SO happy that we decided to go here. We checked in on Monday Sept. 3rd. It was great for us because not caring at all about the horse races the towns were emptying out. Dolores, who is one of the owners could not have been sweeter. Anything at all that we wanted we got. Directions, towels, late nite dinner, reviews of the area, champagne and chocolates in our suite, anything. Dolores and her son Jared were so acomodating and kind.

The room was very nicely appointed with the items you hope to find in a true Inn. Toiletries in the powder room, extral towels, beautifully laid out suite decorated in the old country style. The walls were painted a soft plum color. The California Queen bed was so soft. There was also bath robes, slippers, a tv, alarm clock, iron and board, small fridge, electric fireplace, and a very large air powered jacuzzi certainly big enough for two. Kate and I took advantage of the Couples Retreat package. This included a mineral bath as well as a one hour couples massage. The two sweet massage therapists were amazing. Rubbing away every ache and worry. That one hour does go by way too quick though.

Dolores had suggested for us to go to the Iron Roost for breakfast. Which is just a few doors up from the Inn. The main concept of the Iron Roost is waffles. Sweet thick delicious waffles for breakfast as well as delicious savory waffles for lunch. Kate and I had breakfast there all 4 days. If you go, YOU MUST have the Banans Foster waffle. I could have eaten 5 of these. It was truly a phenominal breakfast. We got to speak with Linnaea, the owner. What another kind and warm person. From the moment you walk in the door you get that warm friendly community feeling. And the food is spectacular too!

That same warm feeling is also certainly found at The Medberry Inn. Greeted with a smile by everyone we saw. Free off street parking, wonderful accomodations, superb massage, a great price. All around Kate and I highly reccomend the Medberry Inn. You can go into Saratoga Springs for the day which has farmers markets, tons of shops, restaurants, ice creams shops, everything you could want. Lake George is nice but after Labor Day is only really open on the weekends until October. Then it pretty much shuts down for the off season.

Sorry if I rambled a bit but you get my point. The Medberry Inn and Spa is fantastic. Kate and I are planning on returning at least once every 3 months for a getaway. You will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are appointed basically the same. But make sure you sip your champagne on the porch at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ROCHELLE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a very good experience at the Medbery. The owners and (it seemed there was only one hotel staff, who could also have been family, I suppose) were very nice, if a little on the awkward side. Dolores, one of the owners, always seemed busy, but was so happy to stop and chat or ask if we needed anything. The spa services were nice and the massage therapists were extremely professional. The mineral bath was nice, but the plate of fruit they left in there to make it seem more luxurious consisted of 2 sick looking strawberries and 2 cubes of cantaloupe lol. We didn't eat it.

We were the only guests in the hotel, which allowed us to have the 2nd floor balcony to ourselves any time we wanted (this was REALLY nice). Now, for the but... I just looked on their website to see whether the error was on the part of my boyfriend for booking an insufficient room, or the hotel, and the information I got on the website led me to believe that EVERY room has at least a California queen sized bed. This is not the case. The bed in our room was no bigger than a full. To me, that is a very serious problem

The Medbery is certainly worth checking out for both hotel and spa services, but keep in mind that it IS very quaint, the rooms are kind of dark, and you may want to be VERY specific about the size of the bed that you want to have. Also, expect to do some minor plumbing work (the flushing handle for our toilet fell off almost immediately) or to be calling for help. I'm sure it will be offered with a smile, however.

Room Tip: no pool or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Medbery Inn and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medbery Inn and Day Spa

Address: 48 Front Street, Ballston Spa, NY 12020
Location: United States > New York > Ballston Spa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballston Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the ambiance of our cozy guest rooms to the practical elegance of our meeting and reception rooms, Medbery Inn & Spa is a unique lodging experience in Saratoga Springs. You'll feel the stress of the day slip away as soon as you enter one of our beautifully appointed guest rooms or suites. Experience pampering the old fashioned way, with luxurious furnishings, baths with whirlpools, and cozy guest robes fully at your disposal. Don't be fooled by the ambiance: our rooms come with high speed internet access and desk space to make sure business travelers have exactly what they need.More than just an inn, we can provide you with Salon and Spa packages to suit every taste. Relax with our mineral baths and spa treatments that include facials, body treatments, hair and nail services. Put the cares of the day behind you completely with Saratoga Massage Therapy, where you can choose from several types of massage to relax and renew your body and spirit. We hope you join us for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Medbery Inn and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medbery Hotel Ballston Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medbery Inn and Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.