We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to be excellent and enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Good Morning Cafe

Good Morning Cafe
2100 Doubleday Ave, Ballston Spa, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Ballston Spa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Organic, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never fails to be excellent and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Last Sunday (hot and steamy morning) we visited GM again - probably 4th or 5th visit. Yes, they were busy but everyone is so pleasant and easy going in this place that you get looked after as if you were going to breakfast in someone's home. Leave your stress and attitude at the door as once the food arrives there is nothing to complain about. My 8 year olds aren't the best behaved in restaurants but they love this place too -- they don't look at the menu and order their favourites and are pretty vocal about how much they enjoy their eggs (over easy), their huge pancake with whipped cream and syrup, and a big side of bacon please! This past weekend their declaration over it being the best bacon ever was a great review.

I have never ordered anything regular at Good Morning. I have now had several egg wraps, mexican-type sandwiches, and anything that seems "different" but enjoyable for breakfast. Last week was delicious - a red pepper wrap filled with eggs and salsa - really excellent.

French toast is heavenly in this place. You have to try it!

In an area where we do not have a ton of breakfast places, this is by far a gem. Living in NYC for nearly 2 decades, good breakfast and brunch is a must and Good Morning is doing everything right. Keep it up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnt Hills, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

But something for everyone. I really loved the variety of the menu (there are choices for Vegans as well) Slightly higher prices than typical for breakfast, but this is to be expected when serving fresh, local high-quality ingredients. My husband ordered standard eggs and were cooked as requested. I had a veggie scramble which had a delicious blend of greens, roasted red peppers, mushrooms and swiss cheese. Both orders came with nicely seasoned, crispy home fries and your choice of Rockhill toast. OJ was fresh and served in charming little jars. The orders passing by our table all looked equally as good (especially the pancakes) Service was friendly and attentive. Will definitely be returning & our new local place for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“don't be fooled”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Don't be fooled by some of these positive reviews!! This place has obviously gone downhill fast. We had to wait 45 minutes for breakfast. Plus they had no AC so it was like 90 degrees in the place. And then the food wasn't completely cooked. As I was not happy, I brought my concerns to an employee who angrily confronted me over my too high expectations, never once apologizing. A simple apology would have settled the matter but instead he expressed the hope that I would never return. This was NOT my first visit to this restaurant but it certainly was my last. Good Morning? More like "good night" as this place will close if this unprofessional attitude continues.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a Living Social coupon so we decided to stop here for breakfast on a Friday morning. The restaurant is tucked away in a small strip mall on the right side of Route 50 (otherwise known as Doubleday Avenue) if you are heading north out of Ballston Spa. Watch carefully for it for you may pass it by.

Accessibility: the restaurant is on one level. There are no stairs from part of the parking lot. The tables are reasonably well spaced, and it appears that the helpful staff would move things around if more space was needed for a wheelchair.

The menu is 2 pages of breakfast. There are a large number of interesting offerings, some as omelets, some as “scrambles”, seven types of breakfast sandwiches and wraps as well as the usual breakfast fare of eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, ham hash, five variations on home fries, pancakes, French Toast etc etc etc. We were looking for something a little different, so hubby ordered the meat and potatoes scramble, which is ham, small chunks of potatoes, cheddar cheese and eggs all scrambled together, with whole wheat toast and I ordered the “California dreaming” a wrap that consisted of egg, Monterey Jack cheese, avocado slices, a “dollop” of sour cream and some salsa. As I am not particularly fond of peppers, the restaurant was kind enough to swap out the red pepper wrap for a spinach wrap. The food was plentiful and good. My husband declared the coffee was much better than standard diner fare.

The restaurant prides itself on using as many products as possible from local, organic, fair trade and "just plain good" food sources. A blackboard lists a long list of local vendors from whom almost everything is purchased. Coffee, teas and hot chocolate are purchased from EQUAL EXHANGE a fair trade organization. Committed to encouraging community initiatives that support healthy living, sustainability and caring for others, Good Morning has developed an innovative give back model, donating 5 cents from relevant menu items to local charities. The café offers gluten-free and vegan-friendly options but it is NOT a gluten-free nor nut-free kitchen.

Café hours are Tuesday--Sunday 7am-1pm. If you are in Ballston Spa, or up the road in Saratoga, and want a reasonably priced, delicious, hearty breakfast, this would definitely be a good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great meats and cheeses! The cheese in the omelet was delicious! There were some kitchen issues but they were corrected appropriately. Let's just say our food was worth the wait-seasoned well and fresh ingredients. The prices are a bit high, around $9-$10 per omelet if you add meat (ham or bacon). Overall, a really nice place. I will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Morning Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Good Morning Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Morning Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.