We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with Evie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whistling Kettle

The Whistling Kettle
24 Front St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1776
518-884-2664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Ballston Spa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Whistling Kettle is a full service cafe and tea room with a diverse menu offering for everyone. Paninis, crepes, artisan soups, plenty of salad choices, home made scones, tea sandwiches, beer and wine and over 150+ types of tea. We also offer all our tea in bulk as well as a full line of merchandise.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lunch with Evie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a great lunch with my famous wife! Great food...the quiche, the red pepper soup, salad....so good! Don't forget the french press coffee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quaint experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have frequented this tea house often & always enjoyed the variety & selection of teas & food. Quiche is especially tasty as are the paninis. Desserts are yummy! The center tables are rather cramped & crowded, but still a fun place to have lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, amazing teas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Strawberry kiwi and lemon soufflé iced teas began our lunch. We had the vegetarian panini with kettle salad. Both very good. We plan to stop back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cute place, good food, great tea selection but ridiculous policy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had been here several times for tea and scones or lunch and always been very pleased. Unfortunately the last time I was here was a very unpleasant experience. I was with a colleague in the area and we decided to grab a working lunch. It was a cool and rainy day so the place was unusually quiet at lunch time. As you can see from the picture, the layout consists of booths around the perimeter and smaller tables sandwiched in the center of the room. We had asked for a booth, since we had some work with us, and were told booths were reserved for larger parties. I told the waitress I understood but since it was quiet that day and we needed room to work could she please allow us to sit in a booth. She denied our request so I asked to speak to the manager. A young gentlemen came out and indicated he was the manager and could he help us. I told him I hoped so and explained the situation to which he curtly responded it was policy "sorry". I then told him if that is the way they accommodate their customer's requests I would now be a "former" customer of their establishment. I get policies that make sense but when your restaurant is 25% at noon on a weekday don't you think there is room to make concessions? Off my list...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettle2, Owner at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We wish we had enough space to sit everyone exactly where they wanted to be. However we often get very busy and have to deal with limited space. Because lunch is our peak time of business, we have to maintain a consistent seating policy for the benefit of all. If any policy isn’t consistent, it creates even more problems.

We are not able to predict when we will get traffic, and many times we don't fill up until 1pm. The minute we make an exception for a party of two to sit at a booth, every party of two that comes in afterwards will ask for the same thing. Also, customers who asked to be seated in booths prior would then get upset. Because we often get a mix of groups and smaller parties of 2, we have to seat them in designated areas during our peak times, otherwise we lose almost half of our usable space which results in long wait times.

Any restaurant that is busy and small will have similar policies during their peak hours. Our cafe often gets packed, and it can be any day of the week and any time between 11-2. So an exception for one would be an exception for all. It’s either that or have customers walk out because there is too long of a wait. While we know that some customers might not understand, it’s a small sacrifice to be able to be able to accommodate everyone that visits us with a minimal wait. Our customers who wish to conduct business know to come a little later, and they have their choice of seating. We also note this on our website for anyone visiting us for the first time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NIce ladies lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to celebrate my retirement. We all got the 3 course deal. The red pepper and Gouda soup was wonderful. I had a crepe which was good. After the soup, I couldn't eat all of the crepe. I had a Godiva chocolate cheesecake for dessert (which I also took home) and it was so good. Very rich. I am not a tea drinker so I can't comment on the tea. I had the hot cider. It was rather weak so I wouldn't order it again. It was busy so service was slow but we were in no hurry so that was fine. I"d love to go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whistling Kettle also viewed

 

Been to The Whistling Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whistling Kettle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.