We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just Pub Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carney's Tavern

Carney's Tavern
17 Main Street, Ballston Lake, NY 12019
518-952-7177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Carney's Tavern has reopened under new ownership. Rising Star Chef Michael Pallozzi invites you to see the renovations that were made to the historic building as well as the menu. Classic favorites such as French Onion soup, Veal Parmeasan as well Prime Rib specials. Surely there is something for everyone!
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not just Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

Carney' s Tavern is not just pub food it has a very nice variety of fine dining entrées. We have always gone there for casual fare but were pleasantly surprised when we tried their fine dining fare. We have visited several times and were not disappointed. Sauces delightful, nice presentation, loved the creamed polenta and beef prepared just as requested. The wait staff were friendly and attentive. Enjoyed the live music.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hopeful but disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Stopped by after reviewing website for an anniversary lunch. Waitress greeted us and told us to sit where ever we'd like to. At the time there were 3 others tables seated. Waitress appeared to be also the bartender and hostess which made service very slow. Menu "looked" very nice...we ordered salad and soup and burgers. Guinness sign hung from bar post but it appeared waitress was having issues with keg and had "called someone" to come fix. She tried to pour one pint and came back and said "I'm having issues with keg...right now I only have half a glass if I can't fix it I'll just give it to you". I said okay thinking I wouldn't be charged. Bill came and we were charged for the beer in full. Also asked what else is on tap and she didn't really know. After ordering a burger, which menu advertised as coming with hand cut fries, we heard another table order a burger and they were told fries didn't come with the burger, even though menu stated as such. Since it was a special occasion, we decided to add to our order.
Fries came out after we paid for our check and were a true disappoint. I noticed seperate dinner menus so not sure why lunch menus stated inaccurate info... My husband and I agreed that fries with a burger are standard fare.
Overall meal was average at best. We had a long wait in between seating, drink order, food order and check. I would recommend another stop along your way as both food and drink were not worth the time or expense which is a shame as website tries to create illusion of above par bar food and ambiance.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnt Hills, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New. Different. Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We just moved back to the Burnt Hills area and had not been to Carney's Tavern in a few years. Though the "old" Carney's Tavern had a well-earned reputation for being a good local pub the new Carney's Tavern has a new menu serving better cuisine at wonderful prices. Service was exemplary. We visited Carney's on a Saturday night and were fortunate to have listened to two very talented singers who performed beautifully, providing a nice atmosphere in which one could still conduct a conversation.

If you haven't been to Carney's Tavern in a while you should go. If you haven't been to Ballston Lake in a while dinner at Carney's Tavern is good reason to make the drive.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for food, drink and entertainment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We had another wonderful dinner at Carney's. The food is excellent. Great value for the price. We had beef, scallops, burgers, hot turkey sandwich and appetizers. All of our food was outstanding. Sam Adams Octoberfest is on tap which made the night. The staff is very friendly, the restaurant is immaculate and the entertainment is awesome! Thank you Carney's for a wonderful family night out.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

eh........chicken cacciatore was quite strange ..very DRY as sauce was just tossed with the rest of the ingredients ..with only a few (4) thin strips of chicken. I think I counted 2 mushrooms and a few onion slices. This dish is mostly pasta. Wife's steak was just OK according to her. She couldn't eat the potatoes or vegetables as she thought they were over spiced with whatever..whiskey sour was from a mix which had a strange after taste..beer was good but how can that be messed up? Oh and they have a kid's menu so p;an accordingly (noise).

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carney's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Carney's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carney's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.